Homemade Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Y’all. I seriously cooked the best dinner tonight! I don’t know what it is, but lately I’ve been wanting to cook me and Dono some healthy meals. I’m tired of eating out and eating at the same old restaurants. I’ve been wanting to experiment all while keeping us a smidge healthier than normal. I’ve always heard that you gain the most weight your first year of marriage. Well, I want to lose the most weight during my first year of marriage!

Tonight I made homemade chicken lettuce wraps. I was craving some Asian food, and this hit the spot – without all the calories. Without further ado…

Chicken Lettuce Wraps

INGREDIENTS:  
1 head of Boston Lettuce (I used iceberg)
2 tablespoons Olive Oil
1LB Ground Chicken
1 cup Shredded Carrots
1/2 Onion, Chopped
3 Cloves Garlic, chopped fine (I love garlic, ok!)
1/4 Cup Sliced Almonds
2 Tablespoons brown sugar
1 Tablespoon White Vinegar
1 Teaspoon Sesame Oil
2 Tablespoons Ketchup
1 Teaspoon Freshly Grated Ginger
3 Tablespoons Soy Sauce
3 Green Onions, Chopped, for garnish
additional sliced almonds for garnish

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat large skillet. Drizzle with olive oil and sesame oil. Brown ground chicken, adding onions and garlic.

2. Once chicken is browned, add carrots, almonds, brown sugar, white vinegar, ketchup, ginger, and soy sauce. Mix well and simmer.

3. To serve, spoon chicken mixture over lettuce, adding almonds and green onions.

4. Devour and LOVE!

Leave a Reply

