Memorial Day Weekend!

Happy Memorial Day Weekend! I’m continuously blessed to have a family full of military folks who served for our country. Special props to both my grandfathers, my dad, and my brother.

at michael's work

This weekend, Donovan and I wanted to lay low since we ‘ve had a busy past couple of weeks. This was truly our first weekend home alone together since BEFORE the wedding. CRAZY!

Friday night we celebrated by making crock pot chicken tacos which were delicious, and then went to see The Hangover 3.

photo (2)

The Hangover 3 was pretty funny, but not as funny as I was hoping. We drank a few margaritas before getting to the theater, but it still wasn’t as funny as we had hoped.

Saturday morning we slept in and had a leisure afternoon laying on the couch before I headed to run some errands and get a haircut. It’s been a good long while since I’ve had a dramatic hair cut. The last time I cut all my hair off, it was my 2nd year of grad school, and I was just ready for a change. I had grown my hair long and I just wanted it gone. My hairdresser (who I’ve been a loyal customer of for the past 6+ years) did a fabulous job with the cut. The next day after I washed it and dried it myself, I cried because I could not make it look as cute as he did. It was all flat and stupid looking. I was pissed and vowed that I would never cut my hair like that ever again – especially because I couldn’t pull it in a pony tail. I won’t even show you a before picture because it was mortifying.

Ever since that tragic haircut, I’ve been spending the last 3 years trying to grow it out long again. When I met Donovan and we got engaged, I began taking multivitamins, biotin, and doing anything and everything I could to make my hair long again. I kept my hair long because I didn’t know what my wedding dress would look like and didn’t know how long I needed to have it. It kept growing and kept growing. This is the longest my hair has ever been…

photo 1

It may not look long to you -but this was seriously long for me. After the wedding, I knew I wanted to chop it off. It’s too hot in Texas to have long hair in the summer, and I was just ready for a new style. I had been texting my hairdresser for a few days about different styles I liked. My one commandment was that my hair had to be long enough to go into a pony tail since I’m back at the gym and biking with my husband. When I walked into the salon, the first thing he did….even before the consultation….was this…

photo 2BAM! 5 inches were gone like that. I practically screamed. He immediately said, “you don’t know how long I’ve been waiting to do that!” What a crazy guy. After the initial shock of the first snip, we discussed specific style and how to do my bangs. This is what I ended up with:

photo 3It’s very cute, and I love that it is still long enough for me to style a bit. Granted, I’ve showered twice this weekend and it hasn’t looked like this either time. It flips out every which way- so if anyone has any guidance, please let me know! Also….either I must be doing it wrong, or my hair just can’t do Big and Sexy. I bought a few Big Sexy hair products at Target on Saturday, and well, my hair is still as flat as ever. Blerg.

So, for your reading pleasure, here is a sweet before/after photo I put together. I won’t lie and say I don’t miss my long hair, because I already do. However, I do love that my new hairstyle is not as easily tangled and is much easier to deal with.

photo 4

 

Sunday morning, Donovan and I woke up and decided to go for a bike ride. We needed to do some plan changing for our LA Fitness accounts now that we’re married, so we decided to take the trails near our house and ride to the shopping center. Let me tell you, I had no idea there were so many hills around our house. I slept like a baby last night!

photo 5

 

The Map My Run app only shows one way of us biking. I burned about 1,100 calories total. It was amazing. We had to stop a few times coming back because my gears were not shifting properly and kept getting stuck. Also, Donovan fell, so we biked back a little slower than normal.

After the bike ride, we hung out at our apartment pool with one of our friends before hitting up PF Changs and another movie. This time we saw “Mud” with Matthew McConaughey and Reese Witherspoon. It was a pretty interesting movie, and we all really enjoyed it. I can see why it got a 99% rating on Rotten Tomatoes!

Today, we’ve laid pretty low – cleaning the apartment, meal planning, and grocery shopping. It’s only 5:30pm and I’m already ready for bed!

What did y’all do for Memorial Day weekend?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

