2013 Summer Plans!

button

Today I’m linking up with Holly and Trista (yes, I know I’m on a link up spree! This is fun!) to post about my Summer Bucket List!

I’m on a crazy motivational plan to kick some butt and take some names (aka: workout!)  this summer. My husband and I have been having several conversations about getting healthy – not only for us, but for our future children. We don’t want to be those parents huffing and puffing after our kids. Part of me really wishes that I had been serious about this before we got married, but wishes and regrets don’t get you anywhere. We’ve been doing a good job of cooking meals at home for the past 3 weeks and planning ahead for our lunches and dinners. Granted, they are not the healthiest meals (meatloaf and potatoes anyone!?) , but I do have to say that it is much healthier than eating at McDonalds or other restaurants. We actually know what we are putting in our bodies.

I’ve also been doing some crazy awesome workouts lately. Jess from Operation Skinny Jeans posted the other day about a new fitness app called Rip Deck. Last night I opened it up and did the beginner workout. It was intense! Lots of pushups, sit ups, jumping jacks, and squats – all using your own body weight! I’m definitely sore today. I also have been tracking my walks and my bike rides with Dono. It is so cool to see the mileage racking up.

photo 1 

photo 2

 

Another goal we have this summer is to travel to New Orleans where I grew up. Donovan has never been to The Big Easy, and I can’t wait to take him there to show him my old stomping grounds. We haven’t even left yet, and I know he’s already annoyed with me wanting to point out the places where I went to church, school, and where I knocked out my front tooth rollerblading. Yep. That will happen. Get excited. New Orleans is a special place to me – all my childhood memories are there! – and I can’t wait to show him. Not to mention, I can’t wait to drink some hurricanes and eat some good po boys!

Another (sorta serious) goal we have to get our house and finances on track. This first week after the honeymoon we spent doing a lot of cleaning and organizing of all our wedding gifts, however, now we have a huge stack of junk that we need to sell and/or get rid of. No one couple needs 3 blenders and 3 crockpots. That is ridiculous! We are hoping to have a garage sale soon and make a little cash off our old (but really nice) junk. We also need to sit down and work out our finances and how we plan to organize our bills and savings. We have a huge goal to be in a house soon, and we need to get the ball rolling.

What are your summer plans?

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “2013 Summer Plans!

  1. Hey there, I found you through the link-up (obviously…). Good for you getting healthy! Cooking at home makes a huge difference and it also will help you save money!
    My husband is from NOLA too and we go back every chance we get! The food is amazing (YES to poboys!) and I love riding the trolley down St. Charles to the daquari shop at the end of the line – I insist we do it every time. Have a great time!!

  2. Hi Carrie! Love your blog! Thank you for sharing RipDeck. We are happy to be part of your fitness journey. Keep up the good work!

    Share a custom RipDeck workout with us and we will feature it and your blog In-App, on our website and social media.

    Look forward to hearing from you. Happy RipDecking!

    Like us on Facebook.com/RipDeck, follow @ripdeck on Twitter and Pinterest.com/ripdeck

Leave a Reply

