Mondays

 

 

On Friday night, Dono and I went to the gym and did an upper body workout. The gym was practically empty so it was nice to not have to wait for any of the machines. By the time we came home, we were STARVING. Instead of ordering in (after a good workout!!) or going back to the store, we just decided to make what we had. We made french bread pizzas, and they were delicious.

photoWe basically cut french bread in half, smothered it with pizza sauce, cheese, and leftover pepperoni. Popped it in the oven at 350* for about 20 minutes, and it was perfect! We spent the rest of the night catching up on old episodes of Dexter…that we’ve already seen…and went to bed early.

On Saturday morning we woke up fairly early to meet our friend Chad for our new tradition of biking on Saturdays. Last Saturday, Dono and I biked to the gym and back. This week we took our friend Chad to the Campions Trail in Las Colinas and biked to the Dallas Cowboys Practice Field in Valley Ranch – about 12 miles.

photo 1It was a hot ride. I’ve GOT to get some new biking shorts or something to protect my bum. Any ladies out there have any suggestions for good biking shorts? Needless to say I was exhausted when we got back to the car. Fortunately for me, i have a husband who loves me and took me to Eatzi’s for my favorite pesto pasta to regain some strength.

photo 2

After our bike ride, the weather turned sort of gray so we decided to head home and take some naps…well…I napped. It was glorious. After awhile, our friends came over for another new tradition of trying new restaurants in DFW we’ve never been to. I got to pick first, and picked Ethiopian at Queen of Sheba in Addison. I’ve had Ethiopian before, but my friends (and Dono) haven’t…so they were in for a treat! The whole way to the restaurant they kept joking about how they wanted to stop at Whataburger on the way home.

photo 3Yeah, right. They demolished the whole thing! We ordered the vegetarian combo plate along with some beef dish. I’d retype the name, but I have no idea what it was. And it was delicious. We topped our evening off with a little Pokey O’s before heading back to the casa for early bed.

Sunday morning, Dono and I tried a new church in Southlake and loved it! I told him it was meant to be because they played all my favorite hymns. I know that’s dorky, but I’m always looking for a sign. Later in the afternoon we decided to go for a walk around the neighborhood, and I wanted to stop and play around some more with my Nike Training Club iPhone app. Dang, that thing kills me. I get so excited about doing a workout, and then when it comes time, I can barely do 5 minutes! It is hard! In the middle of my squats, I turned around and saw this:

photo 4

Thanks for the motivation, babe! I kid, I kid. He got up eventually and did a couple rounds of squats. He injured himself last week on the bike so he wasn’t able to do too much.

photo 5After our walk Dono fixed a DELICIOUS stir fry. God, I love this man. He cooks, he cleans (sort of), and he makes me laugh. What else do I need in a man?

What did y’all do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

