Korean Beef aka: my favorite quick dinner

A few months back I was having a real hankering for Asian food – as in – I wanted to eat it every night for a week.  Typically good Asian food (like Mexican) is expensive in my area, and I did not feel like paying $20 a night for an Asian meal just to satisfy my craving. I did a little experimenting and came up with a Korean Beef look-alike dish. If you follow me on Pinterest (Carrie Gregg) you would have noticed how many asian-inspired meals I oogled over!

photo 1

Korean Beef (aka: Korean Turkey on healthy nights)

Ingredients:
1lb ground beef (I use Turkey though to keep it a bit lighter)
1/2 cup brown sugar (more or less depending on how sweet I want it)
1/4 cup soy sauce (more or less depending on how salty I want it)
Sesame Oil
Garlic Cloves (I typically use the whole bulb, but I love garlic)
1 teaspoon ground ginger
Cayenne pepper (depends on how spicy you want it)
Green Onions

Directions:
1. Put about a tablespoon of sesame oil in the bottom of a skillet and brown the turkey/beef with garlic.
2. When it’s brown, add in brown sugar, soy sauce, ginger, salt/pepper, and cayenne. Simmer for a few minutes
3. Serve over rice (or in tortillas for fusion!) and top with green onions
4. Stuff your face

photo 2

I’m not kidding when I say this stuff is good. It’s DAMN good! Today for lunch I just brought a tupperware of korean beef. No rice. No tortillas. Just meat. And it was glorious!

Leave a Reply

