Old Navy Fitness Clothes + Weekend Recap

Hey party people!

This weekend Old Navy was having 40% off their fitness clothing, and yesterday their running shorts were $5 each! Since I’ve been getting active again, I thought this would be a good time to stock up on some much needed (and fashionable) exercise gear! (PS- Old Navy did not pay me to do this post. These opinions are my own)

These active tops were only $7 a piece so I picked up a few. I really love working out in t-shirts (never tank tops), and since these are moisture wicking, too, I felt like I couldn’t go wrong with these. After I made my purchase, I came home and went for a walk/jog, and I was able to job about half a mile longer. It’s baby steps, people, but I’m pretty sure it was due to the more breathable and lightweight fabric.

photo 1

 

I also bought a pair of compression capris. I’ve never worn athletic pants this tight before – typically if I wear pants I go for yoga pants which are a bit looser, but I’ve read some other blogs which have recommended them. Since they were on sale, I thought I’d give them a go. They are actually very comfortable, and I like the wide waistband. I’m not sure I’d wear them in public like I do yoga pants, but they were definitely good for biking!

photo 2

 

Since my husband has been out of town for the last few days for work, my friend Chad and I decided to do our weekly Saturday bike ride by ourselves. We started at the Katy Trail near SMU, and when we got to the end, we decided to do a “Choose your own Adventure” and bike a few miles and then decide which way we wanted to go. We ended up taking a pretty sweet ride around downtown Dallas. Our first stop was Pioneer Plaza where all the huge cattle are.

photo 3

 

We then headed towards Main Street Garden where the City of Dallas has installed part of their new marketing plan “Big Things Happen Here”. Chad wanted to take a picture with the “Big” sign, so I hopped in, too!

photo 4

 

From Main Street Gardens, we continued down Main Street to Deep Ellum which is a part of Dallas being revitalized. It was pretty neat to see all the new businesses going in. We made a turn and headed towards Fair Park and East Dallas where we stopped at the Jubilee Center to re-fill on water. By this point we had biked about 8 miles and I was getting exhausted – especially knowing we had to bike all the way back to the cars.

We decided to turn up Munger/Greenville Avenue to bike up the rest of the way. Which – is completely uphill the whole way, I might add. We stopped on lower Greenville at Blue Goose for some grub. Looking back I wish we would’ve eaten AFTER we completed our ride, because the last 3 miles biking on a full stomach was miserable.

Our ride ended up being a little over 14 miles, even though it seemed much longer than that. Riding through down town there was a lot of stop-and-go because of the crosswalks and pedestrians we had to navigate around.

photo 5

 

According to Map my Ride, I burned about 1,200 calories. I definitely earned that mexican lunch at Blue Goose! And I definitely slept like a baby last night!

What did y’all do this weekend!?

Leave a Reply

