Workout Wednesday- Running Edition!

button

 

Y’all. I am so proud of myself right now. Like really.

When I was in high school, I was on the Cross Country and Track team. My brother was also a runner, so I guess my parents thought running would be good for me, too. Although I enjoyed the camaraderie of my friends on the team, I did not particularly care for running. On our distance running workout days, I can remember walking parts of the distance…and our coach driving behind us in his yellow pick up truck yelling “GET YOUR ASS MOVING, FRECKLES!” ….yes that was my nickname. Awesome.

206562_502846315426_8096_n

 

 

I remember the races we used to run. I was terrible. My freshman year I came in dead last in every race. And it was only 2 miles. I may have looked skinny and fit – but I HATED running. I remember walking during specific parts of the races where there were no spectators or coaches watching. By the time I got to my junior year, I wasn’t dead last anymore, but my times were still slow. I was running 2 miles in about 18 minutes – which – looking back, is really not that bad…but considering the girl who won every race ran them in 11 minutes, I had a lot of catching up to do.

208092_502846125806_4456_nOnce I got out of high school I quit running. I put on a ton of weight in college and grad school and gave up on running. Until recently. About a year ago, I started Couch to 5k, and I only got about 3 weeks through the workouts before I quit. I was running on a treadmill and getting HORRIBLE shin splints. Like. I couldn’t walk. So I stopped running again.

About a month ago, after Donovan and I moved in with each other, I started hitting the pavement this time, without a specific goal in mind. I really just wanted to get active. So I started walking about 2 miles around our neighborhood every other night after work and on the weekends. About 2 weeks ago I started jogging. Now remember, it’s hot in Texas…so I could only jog about a quarter of a mile before I thought I was going to die. Clearly, I was going to need a lot of lung capacity training!

Last night at the gym, Dono and I warmed up with some cardio before hitting the weights, and I hit the treadmill again. I’m not sure if the stars were aligned or not, but I ran for 8 MINUTES! Y’all. This is the longest I’ve ever run in the last 4-5 years! The mileage on the treadmill came out to about 3/4 mile, which is not all that great – but it is a step in the right direction. I’m so proud of myself!

Now — I am just concerned about getting shin splints again. They are the devil. I woke up this morning and my shins were hurting. I really don’t want this to deter me from running since I’m getting better at it. Do y’all have any recommendations for dealing with shin splints?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Workout Wednesday- Running Edition!

  1. Make sure to stretch thoroughly before and after your workout. This will help a ton with the soreness. And for shin splints, you really just need to keep working out. That is your muscle building up so you will be sore until you get stronger. You can also have Dono massage your shins for you afterwards. It will be worth the pain in the end.

  2. Great job gettng out there! I did the C25K and it took me 9 weeks, but I did it and last week I ran 5 miles straight for the first time! I also “ran” Track in HS and if we had been at the same school we would have been walking in hiding together 😉 Be sure to stretch before and after and ice your sore parts…I also found when I ran on the balls of my feet/toes, my shin splints weren’t as bad. Good luck and I can’t wait to hear how your training continues!

  3. Hi Carrie! Just found your blog from the wedding link-up – small world! Anyway I find that I can get rid of calf pain if I do a couple stretches IMMEDIATELY after I run. The two that are essential for me are just a few toe touches and a couple squats (like 5). Also you could try a pair of compression socks! I’m obsessed with mine :]

Leave a Reply

