Cilantro Pesto Pasta with Chicken

Whenever I cook a new dish for dinner, I’d say 75% of them turn out awesome. Every once in awhile, I don’t follow the recipe right, or something happens and it turns out in a big fat fail. Tonight, however, was a WIN!

This afternoon, I spent HOURS (literally) looking up recipes on Pinterest and Google for our weekly meal plan. For some reason, I was tried of eating the same ole dishes we’ve been eating, and I was looking for something a bit out of the box. And boy, did I find it!

Tonight I made Cilantro Pesto Pasta — and added grilled chicken for my protein-loving husband. The recipe was actually easier than I thought (even though there were a lot of dirty dishes), and it was so good! I think Donovan was surprised at how good it was, too!

photo
INGREDIENTS:
1 bunch cilantro – about a cup chopped
1 clove garlic (or 2 if you’re me)
1 tablespoon minced ginger
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon sesame oil
Dash of Cayenne
1.5 teaspoon brown sugar
Zest and Juice from 1 lime
1/4 cup roasted peanuts
2-3 tablespoons soy sauce (depending on your taste)
Linguine or Spaghetti
Cooked Chicken (as much as you want, prepared how you want)

DIRECTIONS:
1. Mix together all ingredients (except pasta and chicken) in the food processor until it makes the pesto paste

2. Boil pasta as usual, after draining, mix noodles in with pesto sauce and add chicken. Stir together.

3. Eat and enjoy!

Yum! Yum! We’ll definitely be having this again! Although this isn’t the healthiest meal we’ve ever had, it honestly wasn’t too bad. We debated having spaghetti squash instead of regular noodles, but we opted for noodles. I think if I made this again, I might not use the grilled chicken. It really didn’t need it, and I am literally SO full right now.

What did you make for dinner tonight?

One thought on “Cilantro Pesto Pasta with Chicken

  1. Pingback: Mama’s coming to visit pasta | G.I. Crockpot

Leave a Reply

