Motivation for Exercising

For the past week and a half I’ve been under the weather with a lousy sinus infection. It has been miserable. So bad, in fact, that I went to Quick Care on Wednesday to see a Doctor, just in case I did have strep or bronchitis. Turns out it was just a sinus infection, however, it is still plaguing me with its remnant cough, sore throat, and cotton mouth. Lovely.

I really hate that I was in such a good mindset for working out, and then all of a sudden, I had to stop going to the gym because of my sinus infection. I tried to go again on Monday to get back in the swing of things, but I couldn’t stop coughing, and I didn’t want to get worse by pushing myself too fast. I’m really hoping that these last few days off from the gym don’t deter my motivation, so I’ve decided to make a post to remind myself why I’m doing this.

1. I want to wear KiKi LaRue outfits! 

KKLR shorts

 

I mean, hello! How cute are these shorts! They come in all sorts of colors, but, sadly, they don’t come in plus sizes. Depending on the clothing, I fluctuate between plus size and reguar size, and these don’t come in my size. Plus boutiques tend to run a bit smaller anyway. I want to be able to wear really cute clothing without worrying if it will fit or not when I slide it on.

2. I want to be able to run a mile. 

photoRight now I can only run about half a mile before dying…or looking like I’m going to die. I know 1 mile is such a small goal, but for me that is big. I used to be a big runner in high school, and now I can barely run. It’s so stupid. I want to get back into it again!

3. I want to children one day. 

Now that I’m married, I know Donovan and I will want to have children soon. Soon, as in, may be 2 years from now. Not tomorrow. Either way, we both want to be healthy for our children. We want to be able to chase them and play with them on the floor. I want to have a healthy pregnancy (when it happens), and I don’t want to have to worry about potential health risks just because of my weight.

4. I want to look better.

While there are a lot of people in this world who look worse than me, there are also a lot of people who look better than me. I don’t want to be in a place where I’m a fitness model or anything like that, but it never hurts to drop a few pounds and get moving.

So what are my goals?

I don’t really have a time frame, because I feel like that is just setting myself up for failure – especially if I can’t achieve the goal. That will just discourage me even more. My current goal is just to get moving – to get myself off the couch when I come home from work and do something- take a walk, do spin class, spend an hour at the gym…ANYTHING!

Maybe one day I’ll be brave enough to post my measurements and weight on this blog, but I’m just not there yet. It’s scary to be that transparent.

What are your fitness goals and what keeps you motivated?

One thought on “Motivation for Exercising

  1. I keep motivated to eat right and exercise because I don’t want to be heavy like I once was. I can always tell when I start adding on more fat (by looking in the mirror and by the way my clothes fit) and that encourages me to start working out again if I’ve been slacking for a while. And I know you can do it. It’s 95% mental. You just have to mentally stop yourself from over eating and mentally push yourself to go to the gym and work harder then you think you can. I know you have it in you. You just need to want it bad enough. Keep up the good work. And eat more veggies!!

Leave a Reply

