Day 1 of Kris Gethin Trainer Review

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m seriously starting to add in some weight training to the all the cardio I’m doing each week. I did a bit of research and decided to go with Kris Gethin Trainer from Bodybuilding.com. It is a 12 week strength training program that says you’ll have “mind blowing” and “body altering” results. Sign me up. I took a glance at a few of the workouts, and they are going to be hard. Kris wants you to strength train 5 days a week and incorporate cardio in there, too. I’ve never stuck to a complete training program before, so this will be interesting. Obviously there will be some nights I won’t be able to work out due to personal/social commitments, so I’ll just have to figure that out.

gethin_12week_landing_header

Last night I started off the 12 week program with a leg workout.

Capture

 

I found it odd that the scheduled workout started with 20 minutes of cardio and ending with 20 minutes of cardio. Have you ever tried doing ANY kind of cardio after a leg workout? It’s damn near impossible. My legs were so wobbly — so all I could manage was to jog for 2 minutes and then walk the rest at 3.0 speed. That’s all I got folks.

One thing that was new to me was completing reps to failure. I hear Dono talk about this all the time, but I had never done it myself. My brain is so stuck on doing 3 sets of 10 reps – so it was hard to break out of that mentality. Not to mention, I was tired after doing the warm up sets!

The only exercise on the list I didn’t complete was the Hack Squat. Mainly because every time I tried to go over there, someone was on the machine. I guess I could have done regular squats, but by the time I finished my cardio I was exhausted. Checked my HRM, and it says I burned a little over 600 calories. I’ll call that a success.

By the time I got home I was starving. Dono was out at a work event, so I cooked up the last bit of chicken we had in the fridge before it was scheduled to go bad. I was craving a bit of Italian, so I made a fairly healthy version of creamy pasta with mascarpone cheese….well, at least as healthy as mascarpone cheese can get. I cooked up some veggie noodles (no gluten) and stirred in some lemon juice, mascarpone cheese, chicken, spinach, and sun dried tomatoes. I don’t like tomatoes so I wish I would have left them out — I didn’t eat them anyways. I sprinkled the top with a bit of Parmesan and bread crumbs. Delicious!

PAsta

 

Tonight’s Kris Gethin Trainer workout is Chest and Triceps. Dono says he’ll work out with me, so that will be fun. Hopefully I’ll be able to hold the hair dryer tomorrow!

 

2 thoughts on “Day 1 of Kris Gethin Trainer Review

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap Friday | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Weekly Recap Friday – End of Week 5 | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

