Weekly Recap

So I’ve recently decided (as of this morning) to do a weekly recap of the food/exercise I’ve done all week — to continue motivating myself and look back on my progress.

On Monday: 

On Monday I started the Kris Gethin 12 week work out trainer and started the week with a BANG aka: soreness. The first workout was a legs exercise. Let me just say — it is very difficult to do 20 minutes of cardio after 1) already doing 20 minutes of cardio and 2) a leg workout. No thank you. My legs are still crying.

PAsta

For dinner, Dono was out at a work event, so I made this yummy Italian Pasta. It was pretty good, but I think I’d use shredded chicken instead. The flavorings were awesome. The only unhealthy part of the meal was the tub of mascarpone cheese I dumped in there.

On Tuesday: 

On Tuesday I went back to the gym to torture myself with a chest/triceps workout. Is it just me, or are triceps the weakest muscle in the body? I seriously cannot do anything with my arms after triceps. Ugh. Ridiculous.

For dinner on Tuesday I made Southwestern Chicken Quinoa. I did not take a picture. You will thank me. I’m not sure if I overcooked the quinoa or what, but the stupid dish came out all mushy and did not look like the picture at all. It looked more like a pile of slop. We still ate it because I was hungry…and it was healthy….but it just looked really gross. I guess those are the best kind of meals?

On Wednesday: 

On Wednesday I took a day off from strength training and went to spin class with one of my friends. I realized how much the music/instructor make a difference in my workout, so I think I’m planning to switch to a later spin class on Wednesday with a better instructor. I hate working out that late in the evening (mainly because I’m tired by 7pm and the last thing I want to do is workout), but I think this will be a better switch for me and continue to keep me motivated.

For dinner Wednesday night I made Honey BBQ meatloaf. It’s a fairly healthy meal (I used ground turkey instead of beef) – however I caved and made Mashed Potatoes. I couldn’t help it. It was so delicious. I also caved and had a bit of Talenti Gelato afterwards. I only ate as much as the serving size on the container said (I promise!). And…you really can’t deny yourself completely on a diet, right? It’s all about moderation.

On Thursday: 

Back to strength training and I did a back and biceps workout. Man, it was tough. Also, I hate back extensions. I feel like I’m going to pass out every time I do one. I was pretty much dripping with sweat after I completed 2 exercises. I rounded out the strength training with 40 minutes of cardio per the Kris Gethin training method.

For dinner I ate leftover meatloaf, but made roasted garlic quinoa instead of potatoes. I guess that was  a bit healthier touch. It was pretty good, so I guess I didn’t overcook it this time.

Today, Friday: 

I’m supposed to go to the gym today for a Shoulders, Calves, and Abs workout — but I think I’m going to take it to the street instead to shake it up a bit. All of the exercises I can do with my mini-weights that I use for walking and/or my own body weight. I plan to go for a 3 mile WOG (walk/jog) and perform these exercises along the way.

No idea what I’m going to do for dinner tonight, but I have a feeling it might be unhealthy. I’ve really been craving Applebee’s Oriental Chicken Wraps mmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I do plan to go to spin cycling tomorrow morning – even if Dono doesn’t want to go — so perhaps I’ll burn off that unhealthy oriental chicken!

How did y’all do this week?

Leave a Reply

