Junk Food = Death

WOW! What a busy weekend!

On Friday night, Dono and I had some quality time at the gym with a back and bicep workout. It was hard. And I was tired. We followed up with some homemade spaghetti bolognese, but instead of using noodles – or even spaghetti squash – we used Broccoli Slaw!

Dole_Broccoli_Slaw_Blend_303x303

We were both a bit skeptical at first about using Broccoli Slaw for our “noodles,” but I’m all about trying some new and low-carb. Turns out— the broccoli slaw was the BOMB.COM!!! We ate our normal amount of dinner, and when we were done, we both said, “I feel full, but not sick full. Just……satisfied.” And satisfied we were. Even Donovan said he loved it better than regular noodles.

On Saturday morning, we woke up bright and early for spin class. We’re really liking Beth, the instructor, so we enjoy killing ourselves at 9am in the morning. It seriously is like a party. Beth plays great music, her workouts don’t vary much, and she has great (dirty) jokes! We love her! The night before, we went to Target and bought a few bandanas to help keep the sweat out of our eyes. Both Dono and I sweat like crazy people during spin class, and sweat + eyes ouch. It burns!

We looked liked idiots wearing our bandanas, but it surely saved my life…and my eyes! So what if we look ridiculous! We burned a good 700 + calories!

photo

After killing ourselves on the spin bikes, we headed out to Ft. Worth to spend some quality time with Dono’s sister’s family and my best friend and her husband. We’re all related somehow. I love it. We ended up going to the bowling alley…which was fun until the pepperoni pizza, pepsi, and popcorn came out. I was STARVING from not eating as much earlier, but there were no healthier alternatives. I ate a piece of pizza, a handful of popcorn, and 2 cups of Pepsi. Ick. Then,we topped it off with dinner at Olive Garden. When we got home later that night, I felt SUPER sick to my stomach. I googled Olive Garden’s nutrition facts- — and let’s just say the dinner I had was over 2,000 calories. EWWWWW. This does not even include the junk food we ate at the bowling alley. Blerg. Talk about a HUGE set back. I was up most of the night running back and forth to the toilet. Let’s just say, I’ll never overeat like that ever again.

Sunday we decided to skip church and sleep in – especially since I didn’t feel good. We did a short legs workout at the gym, and then played basketball for about 20 minutes. I haven’t played basketball in YEARS and forgot how much fun it was! It takes me about 10 minutes to warm up and find my “sweet spots” again…but who cares. It was fun, and we were active.  The biggest news on Sunday is that I was able to run 3/4 of a mile! I also haven’t done that in years! Last week I ran half a mile and thought I was going to die. This week, I still felt like I was going to die, but I really think spin class is helping me run — its training my breathing and strengthening my legs….even if I am dying a slow shin splint death:

photo (1)

The rest of the afternoon consisted of our typical Sunday ritual – meal planning, laundry, cleaning. My parents brought over my old vanity that matches my bedroom set, and we made that into a desk for Dono so now he doesn’t have to sit at the dining room table.

photo (3)

 

The desk is a bit small, but I think it works for now…especially since we’re in such a small apartment.

Now – this week, back to the daily grind of work and exercising. Blerg. I’m ready for a vacation!

One thought on “Junk Food = Death

  1. I’m glad you are starting to feel the affects of crappy food. Honestly, you won’t want it soon! I do like pizza sometimes, but fried stuff and too sweet things gross me out. I’m really proud of you!

    And I’ve never heard of using slaw as a noodle alternative, but that’s a great idea! Get in your veggies and save a ton of calories! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

