Work Out Wednesday — Running and more Progress

button

 

Linking up again with Skinny Meg for another episode of Workout Wednesday. I did a post about running a few weeks ago. You can read that here. I’ve never been a good runner. I ran cross country in high school and was a fairly decent runner. My best 2 mile time was like 16 minutes. Not the best, but obviously not the worst. Since I’ve stopped running a few years back, and it’s been really hard to get back in the groove of running/jogging every day.

Since I’m doing the Kris Gethin 12 week trainer – it is suggested to do 40 minutes of cardio a day. That is a lot of cardio.  I typically just do 20 minutes before strength training. Depending on how tired i am, I might do another 20 minutes. But most likely I just go home after that. For the first 20 minutes, I switch it up between biking, elliptical, or jogging.  Whenever I decide to jog, I warm up by walking 1 lap at a slower pace – about 3.3 on the treadmill. Then, I jog until I can’t jog anymore. For the last few times I’ve jogged this has been about 3 laps – which is incredibly exciting for me. Then, I cool down with another lap at 3.3 pace. This typically takes me the full 20 minutes to do.

The two things I’m having trouble with right now is shin splints and breathing while running. Everytime I run, my shin splints go nuts. They literally hate me. I’ve been icing them down at night, stretching better, etc, but I don’t know how else to make it better. I feel like if I continue to take time off of jogging to heal my shin splints, it will just keep getting harder and harder to start running again.

The other thing I struggle with is breathing while running. I’ve read a few articles on line about “Belly breathing” versus “chest breathing” — but when I’m jogging at 4.7 speed (that is fast for me) it’s hard for me to determine which type of breathing I’m actually doing. I even try breathing out of my nose and mouth, but I can’t really tell if any of that is working.

If any of you out there in the blog/internet world have any suggestions about breathing or shin splints, definitely send them my way!

On another note, I can definitely see a bit of progress happening with my body. If you follow me on instagram, you’ve already seen the picture I’ve posted below.

On April 14, 2012, Donovan proposed to me in West Dallas at one of our favorite venues. He veiled the surprise as a birthday dinner — so I went out and bought a new dress had a really long spa day. It was glorious. I knew something was probably coming, so I wanted to make myself look good. I ended up wearing top AND bottom spanx to help smooth out the dress. I was so uncomfortable, but all I wanted to do was look pretty for Donovan.

IMG_0159

 

IMG_0355

 

Just looking back on these pictures, I’m sort of embarrassed. This is probably the heaviest I’ve been in a long time. No telling what I weighed, but I was very unhappy with my job, and driving back and forth to see Donovan was quite draining.

This morning as I was getting dressed for work, I decided to wear this dress again. I hadn’t worn it in awhile, and I was looking for something easy to put on since it is hot outside. I was about to grab my spanx, but I turned to look in the mirror first, and was heavily surprised! The dress is actually a bit loose on me now! I decided not to opt for Spanx and I feel SO much more comfortable in this dress.

photo

 

Obviously, there is still a lot of work to be done, but it’s definitely a start. I’m still lumpy in places and not thin at all (i have muscular legs), but I’m proud of how far I’ve come just in the last 3 weeks. I’ve been pushing my self hard and really trying to watch what I’m feeding myself and Donovan. I’m slowly learning that a lot of weight loss revolves more around what you eat than strength training. Yes, it helps to work out and burn those calories, but what’s the point of eating a hamburger and then busting it for 3 hours at the gym to burn it off!?

This is definitely a huge lifestyle change for me. Thank you to everyone who leaves supportive comments, emails, and “likes” on Instagram. I still have a long way to go!

One thought on “Work Out Wednesday — Running and more Progress

  1. Wow! Look at the difference in these pictures! You can see your waist, arms and face are much smaller! So glad you are learning food is 80% of weight loss journey and working out is 20%! So important what you put in your body! You are seriously doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

