What I Ate Tuesday

If you follow me on Instagram, you probably noticed (or were annoyed) that I have been posting “What I Ate” all day today. I’m sure no one out there in the Instagram world really care what I eat during the day, but for me, this is just another way to hold myself accountable. And who knows? May be someone out there will be inspired by what I’m eating or find a new recipe?

If you don’t follow me on Instagram…here’s a quick recap:

Breakfast: Jimmy Dean Delights (Lite) – honey wheat turkey egg sandwich with Advocare Spark. I always eat breakfast before I leave for work, about 8:30am.

photo 1

 

Snack: Fiber One Coconut Almond Protein Bar, Yogurt Raisins . I always keep a bottle of water by my desk and chug throughout the day. I typically eat my snack around 10:30 or 11am.

photo 2

 

Lunch: Today I had leftover dinner from last night – stir fry! Ground chick, broccoli slaw, carrots, peas, corn, and brown rice. Delish. I like to eat lunch around 1pm, but I was super swamped at work, so I didn’t end up eating until about 2pm today.

photo 3

 

Afternoon Snack – on workout days, I typically have an additional snack around 3pm/4pm before I leave work at 5pm. Sometimes I have cottage cheese with strawberries, another protein bar, or string cheese. Since I didn’t work out today, I didn’t eat an afternoon snack.

Dinner: I have REALLY been craving Applebee’s lately, but I recently learned that my favorite meal – the Oriental Chicken Wrap is literally over 1,100 calories. FOR.ONE.MEAL. WHAT?! That’s ridiculous. That’s practically an entire day of calories in one meal. No thanks. I decided to make the wrap at home with my own ingredients to make it a smidge healthier. I bought “Salad in a Bag” , heated up some grilled chicken (from a bag), and mixed it with some homemade oriental-inspired salad dressing. Mixed it all together and wrapped it up in a whole wheat tortilla. So much healthier. Not sure of the calorie count, but I’m assuming it was WAY under 1,100.

photo 4

 

All-in-all, I think I’m doing a pretty good job with food. I’ve pretty much completely cut out soda from my diet which is an incredible feeling. I can definitely feel like I have more energy throughout the day, and the headaches have completely subsided.

Last weekend, Dono and I went to the movies, and I had a coke. I only drank about half of it, and I felt really burp-y during the rest of the movie and my stomach hurt. I’m glad to know that my body is starting to feel the effects of healthy living! I’m actually starting to crave water and have moved away from sugary drinks!

I am still looking for some healthy lunch/dinner ideas as I hate to say that i’m actually starting to get tired of eating stir fry and brown rice. Pass any suggestions my way!

 

Leave a Reply

