Work Out Wednesday – Discouraged

button

Do y’all ever just feel plain discouraged? That’s how I feel today.

I’ve been exercising and eating right (or at least 80% times better than I was before) for about 5 weeks now. Typically by this time on any other workout plan is where I start to feel discouraged because I’m not seeing results as quickly as I’d like — so I quit. And that’s how I feel today. However. I’m not quitting. I’m just frustrated.

Last night I was watching Extreme Makeover: Weight Loss edition again (I love that show) — but perhaps I shouldn’t watch it anymore. I see these folks who weigh upwards of 400+ pounds, and it’s almost like the weight just FALLS off of them. The guy last night lost 221 pounds in 9 months. 9 FREAKING MONTHS. That’s a whole lot of weight in a short amount of time. The one thing I love about this show versus Biggest Loser is because Chris Powell sends the contestants HOME to LIVE and WORK in their daily lives, while making changes. That seems more reasonable to me than living on a secluded ranch where all you’re surrounded by is healthy food and fitness training. It’s more real life. I get that these folks still have temptations and setbacks…they show that on the show…but they still loose a heck of a lot of weight.

I’ve now been working out 5-6 days a week (with intense spin cycling on 2 of those days) and eating a LOT healthier, but I have not lost remotely anything. I can’t really tell that THAT much is happening with my body. I’m not binge eating oreo’s before I go to bed…you can ask my husband. And I’m not eating Whataburger or McDonald’s for lunch at work (you can ask my co-workers…they actually made fun of me this morning for my healthy lunches). I’m SERIOUSLY trying hard to lose all of this weight I gained in the last few years, but I feel like it is going NO WHERE. My clothes all still fit practically the same, too.

Am I doing something wrong? Should I be working out more? Higher intensity? I have no idea. I burn about 500-700 calories each time I work out, and I drip with sweat when I leave spin class. My muscles are sore after strength training. My calves are sore from running. I’m killing it. But it’s not happening.

Any fitness/nutrition experts have any ideas or suggestions for me? The only thing I keep telling myself is that I just need to keep it up and eventually I’ll see results and changes. But you would think after 5 weeks I would see some noticeable difference. My mom and husband tell me that I’m noticeably different, but I just don’t see it. Sometimes I feel like they are just saying that to shut me up.

I’m not saying that I want to lose 221 lbs in 9 months. IF I did, I wouldn’t exist…and that would just not be healthy…but I just feel like changes should be happening by now, and they are not. Should I see a nutritionalist? Should I hire a personal trainer? I don’t know what to do. Help!

 

2 thoughts on “Work Out Wednesday – Discouraged

  1. I follow skinny meg’s blog, I saw your link on her website and so this is my first time visiting your blog. Your title for this post jumped out at me because I can relate. I too feel discouraged often with my diet/workout routine. I think everyone does. I think the key to being healthy and fit is consistency (easier said than done). I’m a 34 year old mom with two boys and I’ve been trying to maintain a healthy lifestyle since my youngest was born (6 years). I’m not overweight, but I struggle with overeating. I love to workout which helps balance out my diet a little. I have found ways to excersise that I really enjoy. I love to run and lift weights, and I try to focus on that. I try to remind myself that if it feels hard I’m doing something right and keep pushing. Eventually it gets easier and you have to push yourself even harder, it’s tough because it’s so easy to stay in your comfort zone. I don’t know you and I don’t know what you’ve tried yet, but I think you should just keep at it! It’s ok to have a bad day and feel discouraged, it just means that you need to regroup and change things up a bit. Try the trainer or nutritionist, anything that will keep pushing you in the right direction. Look for different ways to eat (Google Chris Powell carb cycling) and excersise (crossfit?) Find your inner bad ass! When I’m running and listening to awesome music I feel so strong and bad ass, and it doesn’t matter if I look like a crazy lady running down the street cause I feel good! You’ll get there, just DON’T GIVE UP! Good luck!
    -Rachel P.

  2. It took many years to put the weight on. It takes time for it to come off. That’s the truth to it. You have to be realistic in your expectations, otherwise you will get discouraged. Five weeks isn’t a lot, and I know some of those weeks were spent unhealthily per your own admission on this blog. Keep up what you have been doing and don’t pick up that tub of ice cream I know you like when you are feeling down 🙂 A nutritionist would help a lot too as they could help you with how much REALLY you should be eating daily and what. And you may actually have that covered on your insurance if you can get your doctor to refer you. And I think you could.

Leave a Reply

