The D/L on Carb Cycling

Have y’all ever heard of Carb Cyling before? Yes? No? Maybe….

A few days ago I posted about how discouraged I was with my workouts. I’ve been pushing really hard but haven’t really seen any change which was been frustrating. I posted my woes on Skinny Meg’s work-out wednesday blog link up, and had a really great supportive comment by someone named Rachel. (shout out!) Rachel suggested changing up some workouts or eating habits to make a difference, and she suggested Chris Powell’s carb cycling. If you know me at all, you know how much I love and respect Chris Powell. Apparently this is his method of eating which helps to jump start your metabolism and burn fat like crazy. If it was anyone else, I would have blown it off, by Chris helps folks over 400+ pounds shred down to be their best and healthiest selves. I spent most of Sunday afternoon lounging by the pool reading Chris’s book, “Choose More, Lose More for Life!” It was a quick read and had some really motivational and helpful tips. What I love about Chris is that he doesn’t jump start people into crazy weightloss. When people ask him how much they need to be exercising. He tells them, “5 Minutes.” You got to start somewhere.

Enter carb cycling.

There are 4 different carb cycling plans, depending on your goals. I chose the “Classic Carb Cycle” because I feel like I don’t need to be rewarded every other day for eating healthy. I’m on the right track already, I just need some more guidelines and  help to shape it up.

Capture

The idea is that you alternate your high carb days with your low carb days to trick your body into burning more fat. The 7th day is a reward/cheat day where you can eat whatever you want. What I love about the system is that although there are high carb days….the “high” carb is really relative. I mean, 1/2 cup brown rice, 1/2 english muffin….that is not really high carb in my book.

I spent about 2 hours last night trying to meal plan for the week. Part of carb cycling is that you HAVE to eat 5 meals a day…and you HAVE to drink a gallon of water a day. I can do the water thing, but seriously? 5 meals is a lot. I’d rather have 3 bigger meals, but whatever. I’ll try it. When I was putting together my plan, I ended up scratching out a lot. I wanted this to be realistic…so I would complete it….and I also wanted it to be inexpensive. I wanted to pair lunches/dinner together to save me time and money. Here you can see my final plan I put together:

photo (3)

Sorry my handwriting sucks. But it gives you a good picture of where I started. This is a lot of food. And a lot of vegetables. I hate vegetables, so I know low carb days will be the hardest. I’d much rather eat fruit than pick up carrot sticks.

This morning I woke up at 6:30 and went for a 2.25 mile walk around my neighborhood. I think Dono was surprised that I actually got up that early. My reasoning was because if I was doing a low-carb day, I don’t want to expend all my energy lifting weights that night. I’d rather take a walk in the morning and be done when I come home. Then, on high carb days, I’ll go to the gym, spin class, or other weight training so I have more energy.

So far I don’t feel so bad. I do have a headache. This is definitely going to take a day or 2 to get used to. I mean, I’m definitely not used to eating a bowl of spinach by itself. I’m still eating enough calories. Even with my walk this morning (burned 300 calories!) – I don’t have too many free calories afterwards. After the day is over, I’ll probably have eaten around 1700-1800 calories, which is what it needs to be anyway for healthy weight loss.

I’m not sure if I’ll continue carb cycling for more than 1 week, just to start, but I guess we’ll see how we finish out the week. Never hurts to try!

Have y’all ever tried carb cycling before? Any success stories?

 

4 thoughts on “The D/L on Carb Cycling

  1. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 2 Review – High Carb Day | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 4 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 5 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  4. Carb cycling is amazing. The only thing is I figured I could just eat whatever veggies aI wanted to and it didnt count. The same went for milk and the likes. The only item you do not have to count in the carb cycle is fibrous veggies. Thats mostly all the green ones which sucks because I love squash, butternut and milk. So I had to change to soya milk / almond milk and limit the stachy veggies to high carb days. This includes my fruit intake… I was under the impression I could still eat whatever fruiot I wanted cause fruit is healthy but I was wrong… So those too were limited to only high carb days…. how have you found it?

Leave a Reply

