Carb Cycling Day 1 Review

Hola Peeps. I survived Day 1 of Carb Cycling like a champ. It was definitely difficult and I have a LOT to learn about vegetables.

low carb

Yesterday was my first low-carb day. Here is what I ate during the day:
Breakfast: I drank a chocolate protein shake (with 1 scoop of Green Superfood…since eating veggies for breakfast sounds terrible) and had 24 almonds.
Snack:  Cottage cheese and celery sticks w/ peanut butter — not a good combination, but ate it anyway
Lunch: leftover Thai Lime Chicken (baked) with raw spinach (with a drizzling of garlic infused olive oil)
Snack:  Greek yogurt (cherry flavored) and an Advocare Spark drink (I was supposed to eat almonds, but was too busy at work at this time to get them!)
Dinner:  Tomato, Basil, Garlic baked chicken, a sprinkling of Quinoa, and broccoli with a smidge of cheese on top

Things I should not have eaten : Quinoa and cheese on top of broccoli

I literally only ate a quarter of a cup of Quinoa, but I had a headache and needed SOMETHING in my belly. I didn’t eat all of my spinach at lunch, because, well, raw spinach is hard to eat. It kept getting stuck in the back of my throat. Awkward.

Looking back, I think I did a pretty dang good job with my 1st day. Yeah, I shouldn’t have had cheese or quinoa, but really…..those are not horrible things to eat. It’s not like I went to McDonald’s and grabbed a double cheeseburger. Eating vegetables raw is difficult for me – I hate the taste – so I really need to learn some new ways to cook them so I don’t get burned out so easily.

My energy levels were pretty low during the day – but it was also Monday. It’s always hard coming back to work after a good, relaxing weekend. The afternoon Spark really helped, but I don’t want to rely on that in the afternoons.

I think the low-carb days are definitely do-able, I just really need to focus on finding new ways to cook and prepare vegetables so that they taste good and are easy to pack for lunches and eat on the go. If you have any suggestions, send them my way!! I love butternut squash and spaghetti squash, but I feel like those vegetables are still rather carb-y. I do like celery and carrots, but eating them raw over and over gets old. Same with broccoli. May be I need some low-carb dips? Help!

Today was the start of the first high carb day, and I feel better already! My stomach has literally started growling about 10 minutes before I’m supposed to eat again. i’ll take that as a good sign that my metabolism is working strong! I’m drinking a ton of water and peeing like every 20 minutes.  I’ll have more of an update on Day 2 tomorrow.

So….help! Send over any veggie recipes you have that are easy, cheap, and tasty!

4 thoughts on “Carb Cycling Day 1 Review

  1. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 2 Review – High Carb Day | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Carb Cycling – Day 3 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 4 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  4. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 5 Review | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

