Carb Cycling Day 2 Review – High Carb Day

High carb day is officially my favorite! And…by high carbs…I actually mean….small amount of carbs.

Today’s post is a review of Day 2 (yesterday) of Chris Powell’s carb cycling program. You can read about why I decided to start carb cycling here. You can also read about my Day 1 adventures on low-carb day here.

Thanks to the “high” carbs yesterday, I felt like I had more energy during the day. Here was my schedule of food:

photo 1

Breakfast: Chocolate protein shake, 1 banana, and english muffin with peanut butter

Snack: cottage cheese and a handful of strawberries

Lunch: leftover chicken and quinoa, carrot sticks

Snack: greek yogurt and a handful of granola

Dinner: Turkey burger (without the bun), small sweet potato, 4 strawberries, and broccoli

I also had a Weight Watchers fudge ice cream bar. It was only 100 calories, but I really needed something sweet. Obviously, this was a better choice than 2 bowls of regular ice cream with chocolate sauce.

These turkey burgers I made last night were pretty fantastic, if I do say so myself!

photo 2

I sectioned out 8oz of ground turkey (I’ll use the rest later this week for a different meal), mixed it with 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, 1/4 cup minced garlic (i LOVE garlic), a sprinkling of salt and pepper and onion powder, and about 2 tablespoons of stir fry sauce for a bit of flavor. I made patties out of them meat mixture, and then cooked 2 – 1 for dinner, and 1 for lunch today and cooked for 5 minutes on each side. These things were DELICIOUS and only about 250 calories per serving — and they were BIG patties , 4oz each.

In review, “high carb” day is my favorite — I ended up eating about 1,700 calories, more than Day 1, but I also went to the gym for a chest, tricep, ab workout and burned about 350 calories. I didn’t feel as lethargic yesterday.

Today is another low-carb day. I feel a bit more prepared for all of the veggies. I went to the store last night and bought some veggie dips (low carb, low fat) for my celery and carrots because eating them raw is just gross. I also got some 100 calorie packs of avocado guacamole to put on top of my salad so it doesn’t taste so bland and crunchy. Things are looking up! Since all my meals are planned out, it’s really easy to get things out of the fridge in the morning to prepare lunches and snacks, and the dinner’s i’m making so far this week have been pretty easy to do and clean up afterwards.

I am bit worried that tonight is spin class, and I’m eating low-carb. I brought some extra Spark to drink beforehand, but I really hope I have enough energy for that. I don’t want to pass out!

Day 2 = success!

3 thoughts on “Carb Cycling Day 2 Review – High Carb Day

  1. Pingback: Carb Cycling – Day 3 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 4 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 5 Review | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

