Carb Cycling – Day 3 Review

Side Note: HUGE shout out to Skinny Meg who posted a link to my blog on hers yesterday. I seriously only thought a handful of family and friends were reading my blog…now it turns out I have about 200 people reading this. YIKES! Good thing I haven’t posted swim suit pictures yet! 🙂 Thanks, Meg, for sharing the love!

Low carb days are officially the devil. I mean it. I was nothing but miserable yesterday. Here’s what I ate:

Breakfast: half an English muffin with 1tbsp of PB, Spark, protein shake and some almonds

Snack: Cottage cheese, carrot sticks, and a sprinkling of veggie dip

Lunch: leftover turkey burger, iceberg lettuce, broccoli slaw, and a smidge of guacamole for taste

Snack: Spark, greek yogurt

Dinner: Lemon chicken, a smidge of Quinoa, and iceberg lettuce with broccoli slaw

About 2pm (before my afternoon snack) I started having TERRIBLE headaches. I took a few Tylenol but nothing seemed to help. About 4pm, I was really having trouble staying focused at work. I felt nauseous and disgusting and my head was killing me. It was all I could to stay til the end of the day and get home as quick as I could. I felt a bit better after I ate dinner (at 5:15pm, earlier than I was supposed to), but the headache quickly came back. I’ve been drinking water ALL DAY so I know I’m not dehydrated.

Dono tells me that most of it is in my head. I’m sure some of it is….but not all of it. I really felt miserable yesterday. I did some googling on “headaches on carb cycling” and came across a slew of different opinions. Duh. Everyone’s body works differently…but when it comes down to it, I think these low carb days are not really doing my body justice. Since I’m so active right now, my body is having a hard time adjusting to the different foods. I know I’m eating healthier (lots of fruits and veggies and protein), but I think it’s okay to have complex carbs everyday – sweet potatoes, brown rice, etc…..just as long as the portions are in control. If I wasn’t so active right now, may be I wouldn’t be getting headaches on low-carb days…but burning 3,000 calories + a week, I’m pretty sure I need more fuel in my fire.

I’m sticking with the program for another 2 days, because I promised myself I would. That means only 1 more low-carb day this week. I think I can handle that. I might have to incorporate a bit more complex carbs, perhaps at lunch or something, but then just avoid carbs at dinner. I don’t understand how people on the “Turbo Cycle” can be so active and loose so much weight. I can’t imagine doing 2 low-carb days in a row. Blerg.

Want to read how my other days have gone thus far? Click HERE to read about Day 1 and click HERE to read about Day 2.

In other news, I did step on the scale this morning to see how I’m progressing, and I’ve lost 4 pounds since the last time I weighed myself. I’m sure most of that is water weight from these low carb days, but I’ll still take that as a win.

photo (3)

I snapped this pic this morning while I was getting ready for work. I bought this skirt at Old Navy like 2 years ago as a “traveling” skirt since it is so soft and cozy. When I bought it, the waist band was a bit tight, so I’ve always worn Spanx underneath to help smooth things out. Spanx are like the most uncomfortable piece of clothing ever. For some reason, I pulled the skirt out of the closet to wear, slipped it on, and realized I probably didn’t need Spanx anymore. Hallelujah! Of course, there is still a bit of side roll/muffin top, and I’m not thin by any means, but this skirt is much more comfortable now. I also noticed in this picture that my boobs are bit more in control now. Last time I wore this v-neck shirt, they were practically popping out of the top.

280558_10150226143821781_3006829_o

How convenient!  I found this photo above on Facebook this morning of me in the same shirt…ironically, I’m also sitting in front of a huge slab of cake and ice cream from The Chocolate Bar in Houston. Yikes.

I’m ready for the high carb day today. I missed spin class last night because I felt so terrible. I really need to get back on it so I don’t lose all my muscles.

Do y’all get headaches when carb cycling?

2 thoughts on “Carb Cycling – Day 3 Review

  1. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 4 Review | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Carb Cycling Day 5 Review | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

