Carb Cycling Day 5 Review

I meant to post this on Saturday, but, well, I decided to take some much needed time away from the computer over the weekend and enjoy being with my husband and family. If you want to read how other days on Carb Cycling went, click one of the posts below.

Why I decided to carb cycle

Day 1 – low carb

Day 2 – high carb

Day 3 – low carb

Day 4 – high carb

So Day 5 was a low carb day. I pretty much stuck to the diet from the other low carb days and didn’t eat anything too different. Also, I forgot to log meals this day, so I can’t exactly remember what I ate. Sorry. I do know that my high-carb cravings kicked when I left work on Friday afternoon, and I REALLY wanted to stop at Chick Fil A for dinner. Donovan was out of town, flying in late, so I knew dinner would be on my own. I had planned for another dinner at home, but Chick Fil A was practically screaming my name. I ended up  being a good girl, and I came home and made a turkey burger, sweet potato, and broccoli. I know a sweet potato is on the no-no list for low-carb days, but I needed more energy if I was going to wait up until my husband got home.

Overall, I feel like I successfully completed 1 week of carb cycling. While it was interesting to change it up for a week, I don’t think I would go to this extreme for the future, especially since I’m working out so much. It’s really not healthy to NOT eat any type of carb because your body needs fuel and energy to burn, otherwise you’ll simply burn off your muscles it took this long to build!

Unfortunately, I did not work out but 2 days this week, so I think that was a real downside to the program. The days I did work out were high carb days. I couldn’t even imagine doing a low carb day since my headaches were so bad. I did my measurements on Saturday morning as usual, and I could tell I lost an inch in my chest and my waist, and 1/2 inch on my hips…but no where else. I consider that to be good…but I probably could have done that with just working out and eating healthier.

The bottom line is, I think this might be a good plan for someone who does not want to exercise AT ALL – someone who just wants to lose weight by eating differently. It was not a good plan for me, but that doesn’t mean it wouldn’t be a good plan for someone else. At the end of the day, I’d rather eat a healthy amount of carbs and be able to make it to the gym without dying – not to mention, I REALLY overate this weekend. I guess I was trying to overcompensate? We ate at Taco DIner for lunch on Saturday, and Babe’s Chicken for Dinner. Good lord. My tummy is still trying to cleanse itself!

maxresdefault In other news, Dono and I started watching “Orange is the New Black” on Netflix over the weekend. I’m so addicted now! The first episode was a bit slow for me, but once they started adding in some characters and background information, I was sucked in. Even Donovan has been begging to watch it! I will say, there is a lot of nudity and sexual references, but the premise of the show and the acting are great. I love it!

Also, I’ve been struggling to come up with ideas for breakfast ideas that do not require a lot of work. My brain does not start functioning until about 10am, so cooking a breakfast in the morning is just not possible. I also get tired of protein shakes pretty quickly. Last night Dono and I made breakfast sandwiches. They were SO EASY to make, only took about 30 minutes, and it made 12 sandwiches, so we have enough for the both of us for the whole week.

muffin

The sandwich consists of: whole wheat english muffin, egg beaters, sliced cheese, maple turkey sausage. That’s it. I made sure to buy the turkey sausage patties from the refridgerated section (NOT the frozen foods) – this way it would be less time to dethaw in the morning. I made a whole pan of eggs simply by pouring the egg beaters into a cookie sheet and baking it at 350* for 30 minutes. That’s it! Dono and I did an assembly line and wrapped them all up in aluminum foil for individual servings.

This morning, it was so easy to pop open a muffin and heat it up for 1 minute in the microwave. The maple turkey sausage flavor was REALLY good, and gave the sandwich a bit more flavor. Yummy. We’ll definitely be eating these all week!

3 thoughts on “Carb Cycling Day 5 Review

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Foods | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

