Stuffed Acorn Squash

If you know me at all, you know that Autumn/Fall is by far my favorite season. I love when the temps start to drop, leaves crunch under your feet, and you get to wear cute sweaters and boots. It also means that is time for FALL VEGETABLES! WAHOO!

Prior to knowing my sister-in-law, I had never eaten Spaghetti Squash, Butternut Squash, or Acorn Squash. Anytime I heard squash, all I could think of was the yellow summer squash my mom used to boil for us when we were kids. It came out stinky and watery. Not good. When my sister-in-law tried to get me onto these fall squashes, I pretty much laughed in her face. Not only do these squashes look weird, I had a feeling they would taste weird, too. Boy was I wrong. Fall Squashes are my FAVORITE squashes.

First – spaghetti squash tastes EXACTLY like regular spaghetti — even Donovan prefers it over regular noodles!

Second – Butternut squash, tastes exactly like sweet potatoes when mixed with a smidge of brown sugar and and butter.

Third – acorn squash is just plain delicious. There is no way around it.

SO – last night I decided to make stuffed acorn squash. I wanted to have that awesome fall flavor, but incorporate some protein to make my meat-loving husband happy.

acorn squash

The Ingredients:

1 acorn squash, halved and seeded
1 tablespoon butter, melted
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon ground sage, divided
4oz ground turkey — but we used ground chicken we made on our Kitchen Aid mixer
1/4 cup chopped onion
1/2 a celery rib, chopped
1/2 cup chopped apple (i used fuji apples)
1/3 cup bread crumbs
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 egg white
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400*. Cut open the acorn squash, scoop out the seeds, and place on a cookie sheet facing up.
Mix together the butter, half of the sage, and the garlic and spread over the tops of the acorn squash. Roast for 50-60 minutes.

2. Over medium heat, cook the protein. After it’s cooked, remove the meat from the pan to a plate, and place the pan back on the stove. Add the onion and celery and cook for about 4 minutes. Then add the apples and cook for another 2 miunutes.

3. Add the onion mixture to the meat mixture and stir. Then add in remaining sage, parmesan cheese, egg white, and breadcrumbs. Season with salt and pepper.

4. When the squash is finished cooking, spoon the meat mixture into the open halves and pile high!

5. Bake at 400* for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

