Get Packin’!

As I mentioned in my last post, Dono and I are working REALLY hard to save money so we can purchase a house within the next year. Both of us have lived in Apartments for the last 4+ years, and we are jonesin’ hardcore to be in a house, have a yard, and pop out some children. At the end of September we sat down and had our first family meeting to set our budget and outline our goals to start on October 1st.

So far we’ve been doing REALLY well. I’m so proud of us! It’s really hard to plan ahead, meal plan, and stay on track. It’s been quite a challenge to find meals to eat for lunch and dinner that are healthy and have few (inexpensive) ingredients.

For breakfasts, I usually have a whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter and honey. I also drink an Advocare Spark. Dono usually drinks some coffee or juice. I’m not sure what he eats since I’m usually not awake by the time he gets going! For awhile we were both eating our homemade egg muffins – but we haven’t made those in awhile.

muffin

For lunches, we either bring leftovers from dinner the night before or other random hodge-podge meals.

photo 1

For dinners, I scour the internet for healthy (as can be) meals with few ingredients…or with ingredients I know we’ll already have on hand. Now that it’s fall, I’m loving any winter squash and quinoa meals! I think we’ve made 3 in the last week! We also have a ton of butternut squash leftover and in the freezer.

If anyone has any suggestions for healthy meals with few ingredients, let me know! I’m always on the hunt for something for us to eat!

Leave a Reply

