Clean Eating Sloppy Joe’s

Every once in awhile I get a hankering for Sloppy Joe’s. It doesn’t happen that often, but when it does, I dream about the greasy beef dripping down my hands. Too much? Yep, thought so. Although Sloppy Joe’s are yummy, they are not very healthy. When my mom made them for us as kids, everything came out of a can…even the meat. That’s disturbing, so I decided to put together my own version of a sloppy joe…but with a healthy twist!

Clean-Eating Sloppy Joe’s

photo 2

(sloppy joes do not photograph well)

INGREDIENTS:
1lb lean ground beef (or ground turkey if you’re feeling extra healthy)
3-4 Celery Sticks
6 Cherry Tomatoes (more if you like the sauce tomato-y)
Green Bell Pepper
Red Bell Pepper
1/2 cup Water
Salt-free Sloppy Joe Seasoning
(you could probably also add olives and/or mushrooms, but I don’t like either of those)

DIRECTIONS:
1. Chop all the veggies and put them in the food processor to puree
2. Brown the beef (or turkey) and drain
3. Add the veggie puree, water, and seasoning to the meat
4. Bring to a boil and then let simmer for about 10-15 minutes.
5. Serve on whole wheat buns

Thoughts?
Delicious! I got kind of nervous because I put a full cup of water in the skillet and the sloppy joe’s were VERY sloppy because they were very watery. I let it simmer for a bit longer to burn off some of the water, and everything turned out decently. We still had to eat them with a fork, but no biggie. I really liked this twist on a good ole favorite. The vegetables really gave the sloppy joe good flavor and made it more hearty.

Next time?
Next time I won’t add as much water, and I won’t puree the vegetables to a pulp. I like my sloppy joe’s chunky – not watery!

One thought on “Clean Eating Sloppy Joe’s

  1. Pingback: Easy Weeknight Recipe – Tex Mex Sloppy Joes | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

