I Read a Book!

It’s been SO long since I sat down and read a book. Seriously. I read like 3 books on our honeymoon (1 week’s time), and then I stopped. I’ve gotten so busy with life, cooking dinners, and watching reruns of reality tv that it has been a minute since I’ve sat down to read. Every once in awhile I’ll scour the list of NY Times Best Sellers to see if anything strikes my fancy. Last week I saw that Bill O’Reilly had released a new “Killing…” book, and it was at the top of the Combined Print & E-book Nonfiction List.  I don’t read nonfiction that often, but every once in awhile something sticks out.

I have never read a Bill O’Reilly book. I also am not that huge of a fan of Bill O’Reilly. Mainly because my dad has 3 alarms set for when Bill O’Reilly comes on tv. That’s a smidge obnoxious. I also think he whines a lot. But anyways…my dad has read his other “Killing….” books and have loved them. I’m not much into Kennedy or Lincoln, so those didn’t interest me, but as a graduate from theological school, this was right up my alley. I read the first few teaser pages and decided to give “Killing Jesus” a whirl.

jesus1-412x620

It only took me about 3 evenings to read this book, and boy, was I impressed. I don’t remember too much from my Christian Heritage class in seminary, but from what I have retained, I’d say the book was pretty spot on when it came to political history in the time of Jesus. I’m not going to lie…parts of the book are confusing because, well, every Roman Emperor had the same name or combination of names. I literally had to keep flipping backwards to make sure I had the dates correct so I knew which person he was talking about – Caesar Augustus, Julius Caesar,  Tiberius, blah blah blah.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. Although there are not that many documents dating back this far in history, I thought O’Reilly did a great job of tying everything together, and surprisingly, I felt like the book was straightforward and didn’t really pick up on the emotions of either side (Romans vs. Jesus). I still don’t think I’ll read any of the other “Killing” books, but I’m glad I picked up this one.

Do y’all have any recommendations for good books to read?

One thought on “I Read a Book!

  1. I’m pretty certain I left my Kindle on the plane ride back from Ryan’s wedding. We left a lost and found note, but I doubt I’ll see that again.

Leave a Reply

