Happy Halloweenie!

Ever since I can remember, I have not been a fan of Halloween. Our old neighbors used to decorate the CRAP out of their lawn for Halloween. I’m talking – they would add a small, white picket fence, tons of fake tombstones, cobwebs, you name it. They even had a fake coffin on their front porch with a dummy inside. When I was 8, I went to my neighbor’s house to get my friend so we could go trick-or-treating. Well, little did I know, but her dad was dressed up as the dummy and laying in the coffin. When I walked by, he jumped out of the coffin and screamed. I also screamed. I also sure I peed a bit. I’ve never ran so fast back to my house and I hid under my bed. Needless to say – that was the last of my years enjoying Halloween.

Now. I prefer to not dress up. I guess in the back of my mind, I feel like if I let my guard down on Halloween, I’ll get scared again. Sounds stupid, but I hate being scared. Like. With a passion. Now, I prefer my costumes to be easy – where I don’t necessarily have to go out and buy a lot of things. Here are some examples from years past:

227802_502846520016_2045_n

Halloween my freshman year of college. I went to a fraternity party as a Saints Fan. Awesome.

230437_502846505046_9938_n

Halloween my Sophomore year of college. Our themed party was “Gi Joes and Chi-O’s” . I also wore this outfit for Halloween the next week.

222122_502846554946_2888_n

My junior year of college was definitely my most elaborate.  This was for a fraternity party. After all the beer pong we played, I was glad I had on tennis shoes!

13538_514764201886_5186715_n

My first year out of college – in seminary – my friend Christina and I dressed up as sorority girls from rival sororities. She was with Lambda Sigma Delta (LSD) and I was with Sigma Tau Delta (STD) Classy, right?

107_502849015016_5489_n

This was not Halloween – but another example of my lame costumes. When I worked at a community center, my friend and I dressed up as Paris Hilton and Nicole Richie. I was Nicole because I was shorter. Ha.

228647_502846594866_9292_n

Another non-Halloween costume. This was for another sorority party back in the day. I think the theme was “Chi-O’s of the Caribbean.” I love our bathing suits over our clothes.  Everyone else dressed like Pirates.

At this point, it’s very safe to assume that I hate Halloween, and I hate dressing up in costumes. Tonight, Donovan and I will go on with our lives like normal. I’ll cook dinner, he’ll do the dishes. I’ll watch tv/read a book, and Donovan will play Minecraft. What a fancy Halloween night! Since we live in an apartment, I’m sure we won’t have any trick-o-treaters. Oh well! One day!

What are y’all doing for Halloween?

Leave a Reply

