Breakfast Foods

If you know me at all, you know that i absolutely loathe breakfast time. I’m not sure how or when this started, but I have never been a fan of breakfast. Now – don’t get me wrong. I like scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal, waffles, etc — but I don’t like eating them for breakfast. Call me crazy, but I’m more apt to skip breakfast then to find myself scarfing down bowls of cereal before I leave for work.

While breakfast is the most important meal of the day – I’m trying to do better about eating something before I leave for work in the morning. I’ve been alternating breakfasts between the following items:

1. whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter and/or nutella with a glass of spark
2. homemade breakfast sandwiches – whole wheat english muffin/egg/cheese/sausage – find the recipe here
3. Stop at Tom Thumb and get crackers and coffee (this is not the healthiest, I understand that

On Pinterest last weekend I found a recipe for healthy Turkey muffins. I do have a board made specifically for breakfast foods (find it here) but most everything there is sugary and not healthy at all. BUT – these turkey muffins looked delicious!

6882630920_8140d9ef96

Photo from HERE

I decided to set out and make these myself – altering the recipe a bit. Here is what I came up with:

INGREDIENTS:
1lb lean ground turkey
1 red bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
2 stalks of celery chopped small
2 egg whites
Spices – I used thyme, garlic powder, onion powder, dry yellow mustard, All Spice seasoning, and salt/pepper. (I didn’t measure any of these)

DIRECTIONS:
Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.
Form mixture into small “balls” and drop into the 12 slots on a cupcake tin
Bake at 350* for 50 minutes

Overall, they were really easy to make. I didn’t take a picture of mine, because, well, they did not turn out as pretty as the Pinterest picture. I did take a picture of what was left on my plate this morning:

photo

In the words of my husband … “All Clean!”

Honestly- these muffins tasted a lot like miniature meatloaves. Which is not awful. I will admit that it tasted weird with my morning orange juice – so I might have to change up my drink of choice. Needless to say – I got a healthy spattering of veggies and protein to start my day. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

