Wedding Related: The Party That Set The Bar High!

I just realized that I never posted about our wedding reception in all its glory! So…without further ado…

Our wedding reception took place at the beautiful Arlington Hall at Lee Park.

20040030

While we finished taking family photos at the chapel, the rest of our family and friends headed to Arlington Hall for the cocktail hour. My mom had originally asked a guy she knew to play jazz songs on the piano during the cocktail hour, but, for whatever reason, he cancelled at the last minute. In his place, he suggested Kaela Sinclair, who was INCREDIBLE! I wasn’t there for the cocktail hour (obviously) – but I heard she sounded fabulous.

Once Donovan and I arrived at the venue, we were immediately ushered into a small room on the side where they had fixed us a small plate of appetizers and some champagne. We enjoyed the few peaceful moments together – and I got to tinkle (!!) – before our grand entrance.

My brother and sister-in-law had these hot pink sunglasses they were going to wear – and we decided to steal them for our grand entrance to be funny. I mean, really, would you expect anything less from us? We danced into the reception to the Black Eyed Peas “I’ve got a Feelin'”

998697_603084262776_96096807_n

Then we went straight into our First Dances – Me and Donovan, then me and my dad, and then Dono and his mom.

1069255_603084352596_1646000867_n

“My Best Friend” by Tim McGraw

998006_603084452396_2051588274_n

My dad and I had actually taken a few dance classes at Arthur Murray in Dallas to prepare for the big day. Unfortunately, we could not remember any of the steps once we got to the reception. Oh well.

1000103_603084497306_1152327584_n

Randy Travis – “Angels”

After all the dancing, we were finally able to sit down for a bit to let our feet relax. Our attendant at the venue brought us HUGE plates of food while everyone else lined up for the food stations. I can’t remember all the food that we had – but I do know we had a chicken station, a beef station, and a pork station ( i think). Food Glorious Food catered, and they did a knock-out job. Dono and I wolfed down the food so fast. Every other bite, we’d have a string of people come by and congratulate us. This wasn’t awful – but it was hard to choke down food…and we were starving!

After everyone ate dinner, The Centenary College Choir sang to us. It is a choir tradition to sing “The Lord Bless You and Keep You” at a wedding for an alumni – but we don’t have enough voice parts to cover the song, so the choir alumns present sang “You are my Sunshine”. It was awesome!

1010066_603084592116_476684102_n

Then, we rushed off to the lobby for the cake cutting! My favorite part! Our cake was made by Frosted Art Bakery in Dallas. You can read my review on them here. I prayed to God that Dono would not stuff cake in my face/on my dress because I was planning to sell my dress after the wedding. More stains = higher dry cleaning costs. The attendants at the venue had given us like a 2 second review of how to cut a wedding cake in public which made for interesting photos. I think both of us were very nervous.

1002937_603084746806_729069045_n

I love Donovan’s devious face in the pic below. I can still hear him saying “C’mon….Just a little bit….”

179221_603084781736_2034728019_n

Once we walked back into the ballroom, the party got underway. We secretly had hired a band – Icehouse Band – to play. They were hanging out behind the curtain the entire time we were eating. Then, when we all came back into the ballroom, the curtains split open, and the band started playing. It was awesome! You should have seen everyone’s mouths drop! They had no idea!

945095_603085051196_2038103221_n

We had SO much fun dancing the night away! I don’t think I’ve ever had that much fun at a wedding before….or seen so many people dancing! We did the bouquet and garter toss. I had to laugh because Donovan said he couldn’t believe how sweaty/stinky my garter was. Hello! It was under my hot/heavy dress all day/night!

At the end of the night, I changed out of my wedding dress (so I wouldn’t have to deal with it at the hotel) and Donovan and I had one last dance together to “I won’t give up” by Jason Mraz while all our guests lined up outside for our send-off. I LOVED this part of the night. It was so romantic to have that last few minutes together alone in our venue, surrounded by the flowers, candles, and ambiance.

Then – what is better for a fairy tale wedding then a send-off in a horse drawn carriage?!

1001887_603089133016_945953734_n

When we ran out – I heard my cousin Delia say “She really IS a princess!” – that was awesome! Our horse drawn carriage took us on about a 30 minute ride before we ended up back at the hotel for our first night of marital bliss.

Basically – our reception was the shit! We’ve been to 2 weddings since then – and while they were great weddings – we have set the bar high! Donovan and I love looking back at all of the pictures reminiscing and enjoying all of the moments. I can’t wait until our 1 year anniversary when we get more cake!!!

Leave a Reply

