Chicken Brushetta Casserole

I am my mother’s daughter. I LOVE making casserole dishes for weeknight dinners. It’s SO easy to just throw everything in one pot and cook it. One thing I don’t particularly care for, however, is using recipes on the back of a can or boxed food item. You know what I’m talking about – when a box of macaroni and cheese shows you a “fancy” way to make the mac and cheese by adding in some additional ingredients, and voila! Fancy Dinner! This does not interest me, but I saw a recipe on the back of a stuffing box that actually looked delicious!

Enter: Chicken Brushetta Casserole.

unnamed

This dish is not photogenic. Sorry.

INGREDIENTS: 

1 box of Stove Top Chicken Flavored Stuffing
2 chicken breasts cut up into bite-sized pieces
2 cups of diced tomatoes (i used fresh, but you could use canned)
1/2 cup of water
2 garlic, diced
1 cup of Mozzarella Cheese
1 tsp of dried basil (we used fresh basil…and more than we should have)

DIRECTIONS:
1. Cut up the chicken into small pieces and layer on the bottom of a greased casserole dish. Layer basil and mozzarella cheese on top.
2. In a small bowl, mix the stuffing, garlic, tomatoes, and water, then pour on top of the chicken mixture
3. Bake at 400* for 30 minutes.
4. Voila. Easy Dinner!

I really thought the flavors came together quite deliciously for this meal. I wish I would have baked it for another 10 minutes or so to ensure the breadcrumb/stuffing mixture was a bit crispier. In fact, next time, I may not add the water. Also, I wish I would have seasoned the chicken a bit before layering in the dish. Overall, I thought this was a pretty healthy take on this meal (since we used fresh ingredients), and definitely a repeater.

Have you ever made a recipe off the back of a box and it turned out good?

Leave a Reply

