Gobble Gobble!

The other day I was talking to a friend about our families’ Thanksgiving traditions. Thanksgiving is not a super holiday that my family has gotten all excited about over the years. As a kid, I remember we would take trips to Gatlinburg, TN for Thanksgiving and spend the week in a rented Chalet, sitting in the hot tub, hiking, ice skating, and being in the cooler weather. We would always drive back to New Orleans on T-giving day, and have Thanksgiving meal at Shoney’s. Always.

As a young adult, I can’t really remember what we did. Probably stayed around the house and hung out with friends. We always went to my grandparents’ house for Christmas, but it was too far to go for just Thanksgiving too.

For the last few years, my family has celebrated Thanksgiving at my brother and sister-in-laws. Our new tradition is a Vegetarian Thanksgiving! At first it was quite disappointing that we wouldn’t be eating honey-glazed turkey, sweet potato casserole, and all the fixin’s, but I’ve gotten used to it now, and actually look forward to it. My sister-in-law is a GREAT cook …and no, I’m not just writing that because she reads my blog! Every year she really outdoes herself.

Here’s our menu for this year!
Root vegetable chips and bread to dip in Emeril’s truffled fondue
Miso-lime sweet potato dip and garlic aioli
Whole pumpkin soup
Flaky harvest vegetable squares with a side of asparagus
Apple cherry crisp and mini pumpkin cheesecakes
To Drink: gluehwein (hot,spiced red wine) and Egg Nog!

Can you believe she makes all of this from scratch! It’s always so good, and when I get full, I don’t feel sick full as if I had just eaten a ton of meat products. My sister-in-law inspires me to eat healthier, and everytime we visit, I always come home with healthy recipe ideas.

This year I’m making the apple cherry crisp and bringing it down for dessert. I’ve never made a truly vegetarian-friendly dessert before, so this could be interesting. I’ll be sure to post lots of pictures when we come back!

What Thanksgiving traditions do you have?

Leave a Reply

