The Best Soup Ever

Recently I discovered the joy that is my Cuisinart immersion blender.

Cuisinart Immersion Blender

One of my mom’s friends gifted this to us for our wedding, and I almost laughed when I saw it. I mean, really…why not just a regular blender or food processor. It seemed kind of like a crazy gift, so we left it in the box in the back of the pantry.

Last weekend I had the urge to make tomato basil soup, and it called for the immersion blender. Boy, was I glad that I did not return that sucker! It ground up the tomatoes perfectly, and I knew I had to find more excuses to use this special kitchen appliance!

Over Thanksgiving I was reminded of the broccoli/cheese soup my sister-in-law had made 2 years ago for Thanksgiving, and the thought of the soup practically made me salivate all the way home. I knew it would be another great project for my immersion blender! The soup was originally featured here – but I made a few changes.

broccoli cheese soup

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup chopped white onion (I didn’t chop these too small, since we had the blender)
A few garlic cloves
2 tablespoons margarine
3lbs peeled/cubed potatoes
5 cups water
4 cubes chicken bouillon
3 cups fresh broccoli
salt and pepper
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese

DIRECTIONS:
1. In a large stock pot, saute onion and garlic in butter.
2. Add potatoes, broccoli, water, and bouillon cubes. Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium and cook for about 15 minutes covered.
3. Use immersion blender to blend soup. I like less chunky, so I made mine very creamy.
4. Add salt/pepper to taste. Then add cheese and cook until cheese melts

OPINION?
Lordy, I love this soup, and it tastes even better the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th days. I made a huge pot last night for dinner, and I imagine it will be all gone by tomorrow. It’s SO easy, and minus the butter and cheese, it’s not too unhealthy!

Leave a Reply

