Focusing on a New Me!

Well – it is that time of the year when we all start focusing on our New Years Resolutions – when we all set unattainable goals for ourselves, and then peter out by mid-February because we realize we become too busy for our own good.

This year, I’ve decided to do resolutions a bit differently with hopes of staying strong through the year. Instead of creating a laundry list of things I won’t do – I want to focus 2014 on the following two things:

1. My Mind/Soul
2. My Body

How am I going to do this, you ask?

1. My Mind/Soul

– Read more books
– Focus on the fruits of the Spirit and how I can be a better person (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control)
– Attend church more regularly
– Blog more and comment on other blogs more

2. My Body

– Drink more water
– Continue making healthier choices
– Get Moving by exercising 4-5 times a week

Now for my big announcement. I’ve decided that in 2014, I want to run a half-marathon. That’s 13.1 miles folks!

running

Did you notice how none of my resolutions included “Lose Weight?” I did that for a reason. When I focus on weight loss specifically, I tend to fail because I get caught up in how slowly it happens. I’m now focusing on another goal, where weight loss is a by-product, and I think this will be very beneficial for me. I’ve never run more than 6 miles at a time before (and that was in high school), so I know I have a lot of work ahead of me. I plan to follow THIS half-marathon training program. I know there will be weeks that I need to repeat because I’m simply not that fast or strong yet- but I think that is okay. After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day!

If you want to join me on this journey to run a half marathon, I’d love to have you with me – even if you live in another city or state. We can track our progress together and use my blog as a sounding board for our emotions, any set backs, and of course- our wins, too!  I haven’t signed up for any races yet, as I want to pace myself in training so I don’t get injured or burnt out. But stay tuned – I know I’ll be signing up for races soon! Let me know if you want to join me!

What are your New Year’s Resolutions for 2014?

Leave a Reply

