Our Wedding Guestbook

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted some wedding-related material….so here ya go!

During the planning process of our wedding, I really struggled with the idea of a guestbook. The idea of a traditional guestbook made me shudder. It seemed like a waste of space and time to put together, because at the end of the day, it sits on a shelf and collects dust. I wanted something that would be more of a work of art – that we could display in our home. Sure – it might collect dust hanging on the wall, but at least we’d get to see it, right?

One of my cousins is very talented with her Cricut machine. She’s the “room mom” for her daughter’s 2nd grade class and makes some really cool things. When I told her about my ideas for a guestbook, she jumped right in and offered to help. Of course, I couldn’t turn her talent down! I really let her run with the idea and didn’t give much guidance.

photo

I think the guest book came out great! She had cut out leaves from her Cricut, and we had them laid out on the entrance table at our reception for people to sign. I felt like we should have had more leaves signed than what we did – but I imagine a lot of people walked by without even seeing the guestbook…or didn’t sign it because they didn’t know what it was.

Regardless, I love this! It was created on a HUGE canvas, and we ended up hanging it at the bottom of our staircase. I really love the idea of the tree and the leaves. My relationship with Donovan is rooted and supported by all of our friends and family -so this really means a lot. Plus, I love looking at all the signatures and messages people wrote. Even Donovan liked picking out the names of his friends! This is definitely something we will cherish for years and will never collect dust sitting on a shelf!

What did you use for a guestbook at your wedding?

Leave a Reply

