Week 1 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

Wahoo! I’ve survived week 1….only 13 more to go! Ack.

So, how did I do?

Week 1

 

Not too shabby! I’ve enjoyed wearing my Heart Rate Monitor during training so I can monitor my progress caloricly (is that a word?) …and it’s helpful for me to know when I really do need to stop and walk because my heart rate is so high. Also, 10.5 miles is a lot, just for one week – considering I was only slated to run 9 miles.

So far I feel pretty great. I’m a bit sore, but feel like this plan is pretty manageable, and I’m excited to think that by the first week in April I could potentially be able to run a half marathon!

This morning Dono and I woke up and headed out on our 2 mile walk for Sunday’s training. i’m glad it was just a walk, because it was FREEZING outside. I’m talking like 28*! Neither of us really know how to dress for cold weather when exercising outside. I guess we should have just  gone to the gym, but it was nice to get some fresh air. We stopped along the way to pet some dogs, look at squirrels, and of course, take some pics. Thank goodness for my photographer, or this blog would be boring!

week 1 pic

 

Yes, I did wear cropped pants in 28* weather. No. I am not smart. 🙂

Yesterday I hit up the Old Navy sale as all of their activewear was ridiculously cheap! I purchased several new pairs of cropped capris as I run better in them…don’t have to worry about camel toe like I do in shorts. (gross, I know). I snagged 3 pairs of pants, 2 tops, 2 shorts and a top for Dono, and 3 pairs of socks for $50! Can’t say no to that!

Now that we’re done exercising, it’s time to hit up the grocery store for our weekly fixin’s. On the menu this week: stir fry, chicken lasagna, lemon turkey, and skinny chicken philly sandwiches.

It’s not too late to join into my half marathon training with me! Let me know if you join in, and use the #RunWithCarrie hashtag on social media so we  can all hold each other accountable!

 

8 thoughts on “Week 1 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

  1. Pingback: Week 2 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Week 3 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Week 4 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  4. Pingback: Week 5 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  5. Pingback: Week 6 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  6. Pingback: Week 7 of Half Marathon Training AKA: Epic Fail | Newlywed Greggs

  7. Pingback: Week 8 of Half Marathon Training Completed! | Newlywed Greggs

  8. Pingback: Week 9 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

