Our Go-To Weeknight Dinner

One of the things I love about my husband is that we rarely disagree on things…especially dinner choices! We both have the same tastes and cravings which oddly happen on the same nights. It’s very strange. (We were meant to be). Typically, I’ll meal plan and prepare a grocery list on Sunday for the week ahead. I try to base our dinners by what protein is on sale — but sometimes that doesn’t work out so well. For example, I don’t want to eat beef every single night … and I hate seafood. We usually rotate chicken, ground turkey, and a  bit of beef…sometimes pork if its really cheap. I find most of my dinner ideas from Pinterest or The Food Network, but sometimes I get stuck. We have a budget we try to stick to for groceries, but I do want to keep our meals as healthy as possible without over spending. Whenever I’m not sure what to do…I’ll always plan in our favorite go-to weeknight dinner…

Lately, our Go-To weeknight dinner is…………wait for it……….STIR FRY!

I’m sure y’all are all laughing at me right now because Stir Fry sounds so BORING, but I’m here to tell you that stir fry is the most amazing dinner choice ever! There are so many flavors and options you can do, and it does become a very healthy option!

For proteins, we’ll add one of the following:
Ground chicken
Chicken breast nuggets
Ground Turkey
Ground Beef
Beef strips for stir fry (Tom Thumb already sells them in bite size pieces!)

For veggies, we’ll add one or more of the following:
Yellow bell pepper
Red bell pepper
Orange bell pepper
Green bell pepper
Corn
Zucchini
Spinach
Sometimes we’ll add an egg or two (I know this is not a veggie!!)

For flavoring, we typically add these ingredients below, no matter what: 
Onion (yellow or white)
Garlic (lots of it!!!)

For sauce, we always use a stir fry sauce that we pick up from the grocery store. Any stir fry sauce will work – or you could make your own if you’re adventurous. 

I love making stir fry because it’s fairly healthy, and I like that I can cook and sit down to eat within half an hour. Even quicker if I buy and use frozen veggies — no prep work required! 

What is your favorite go-to weeknight dinner?

 

Leave a Reply

