Easy Weeknight Recipe – Tex Mex Sloppy Joes aka: The Mexican Hamburger

If there’s one thing I’ve learned being married so far …in all 9 months of it — my husband LOVES meat. (Ok, I knew that before we got married.) This week, our grocery store was having an insane sale on ground turkey, so I knew we’d be eating a lot of it this week which is totally fine by me. I LOVE ground turkey…however I can only eat spaghetti and stir fry so many nights a week. I browsed through Pinterest and found a recipe for Tex Mex Sloppy Joe’s. Donovan and I both love sloppy joe’s, and this would give us an opportunity to make it a smidge healthier. (We recently made a clean-eating sloppy joe, too. You can find the recipe here)

Our dinner was literally gone in 2 seconds, so I didn’t get to take a picture of it. So instead, here’s the link and photo from the pinterest link I found. (Follow me on Pinterest here!)

tex mex sloppy joe

(Source)

Y’all. This was SO good. I did make a few tweaks though. I did not use a jalapeno…I have no idea how to chop those things, and it just makes everything too spicy for me. We also used Jennie O extra-lean ground turkey.

The recipe also called for 4 teaspoons of Worcestershire Sauce, and I’m pretty sure I used WAY more than that. I also added WAY more cilantro than 1/4 cup.

I served the sloppy joe’s on whole wheat buns along with some of Dono’s famous sweet potato fries. Overall, I think this was a pretty healthy dish, and I liked that it incorporated so many extra veggies into it. Donovan loved it so much he said “Add this to the rotation!” We also dubbed the sandwich the “mexican hamburger” because that is literally what it tasted like!  I loved it, too, and I’m sure this will become a weekly staple.

Leave a Reply

