Week 4 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

See Week 3
See Week 2
See Week 1

Happy Sunday, Err’body! Let’s get right to business. Here’s how I did this week:

Week 4 completed

Let’s call this week a win. My mileage is up, calorie burn is up, and increasing my time exercising each week. All is looking up!

5c295cd3d8396be5cd3070cf8233e4aa

Yesterday morning, before my 4 mile walk/run (more walk), I didn’t really like making the walk. I was tired and just wanted to stay in bed. Although the weather was really nice outside, I just wasn’t feeling it. This happens every once in awhile, and I’m not sure what triggers those thoughts in my head. I tell myself “Oh, it’ll be okay if I just miss this one workout. I’ll pick up again tomorrow.” But that’s where I get myself in trouble. Once I stop, it’s very hard for me to pick up the motivation again. So – I laced up my tennis shoes and told myself “If I can get out there in walk in 20* degree weather in the dark, then surely I can do this in beautiful weather on a Saturday morning!” Plus- I’ve started to notice VERY little changes in my body already. It’s only been 4 weeks, so I’m not examining myself for changes – but I’ve noticed in my neck/upper chest/chin area that I’ve lost a bit of fat. Also, I wore a pair of shorts yesterday and the zipped up effortlessly. They weren’t loose by any means, but I didn’t struggle or have to bend and stretch to get them where I wanted. I definitely call that a win!

Speaking of exercising in nice weather…I’ve really had to learn the art of layering this week. Here’s what I looked like before I left for my walk/jog on Saturday morning. It was 28* outside when I left at 9:30am.

carrie inside

This is what I was wearing–

On the bottom — Old Navy compression capris underneath basic black sweatpants

On the top – Sports Bra, Short-sleeved t-shirt, fleece 3/4 zip up, long sleeve windbreaker

On the head – fleece earbands, fleece ski cap . I also had fleece gloves on my hands!

Let’s just say, everything was covered! Before I even made it to the dog park (about a quarter of a mile from our house), I started stripping clothing. Good thing I had plenty of pockets to put everything! By the time I got back home, I literally had stripped down to the basics. Here’s what that looked like :

unnamed

Yup. I was tired.

Moving forward, I’ve been thinking that I want to add more strength training + monitoring my food a bit more. If you have My Fitness Pal, follow me! May be in this next “phase” I’ll also add 2-3 days of strength training and start running again (personal problem is pretty much healed now I think….hopefully).

ALSO – big news. Donovan and I will be signing up to run the 5K at The Trinity River Levee Run! By March, I should be good to run a 5k with no problem if I keep up with my schedule.Plus, it will be good for me to get out there and start experiencing races around my city. Who’s with me? Let me know if you sign up so we can meet up and run together!

Here’s to a good week, y’all!

9 thoughts on “Week 4 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

  1. I can’t run…or even walk that far…but maybe your brother would want to run that with you and I can cheer all you on?

  2. Pingback: Week 5 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Week 6 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  4. Pingback: Week 7 of Half Marathon Training AKA: Epic Fail | Newlywed Greggs

  5. Pingback: Week 8 of Half Marathon Training Completed! | Newlywed Greggs

  6. Pingback: Week 9 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

