Another Easy Weeknight Dinner – Chicken “Dippers”

If you know me at all, you know that I am just dang exhausted when I get home from work/gym. The last thing I really want to do is stand in front of the stove for hours cooking dinner for me and Donovan, but it is pretty necessary in order to keep things healthy (or healthier) for us. Sure, we could eat at Chick Fil A every night (and that does sound amazing) but I like the fact that I can monitor what we’re eating and know that it is beneficial for our bodies. The more I continue to walk and keep up with this exercise routine, I’m starting to move away from “comforting myself with food” and eating for fuel and energy. My body tells me when it is hungry now – usually about every 3 hours – and as long as I eat something, I’m okay. Otherwise, I turn into a hangry biatch. True story.

Anyways. Last night I was REALLY craving some “comfort me” food – especially Gloria’s chicken burrito. That thing is amaze-balls. And 1,800 calories. No lie. So instead, I decided to whip up burritos homemade so we could manage the quality of the food and caloric intake. Surprisingly, they were VERY delicious, and will DEFINITELY be a staple. Plus, I didn’t really follow a recipe so you could change out the fillings with whatever you wanted. I just used what we had on hand/easy chopping.

photo

INGREDIENTS: (This is exactly what I used, but feel free to switch it up)
Orange bell pepper, seeded and diced
Yellow bell pepper, seeded and diced
White onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, finely minced
2 tablespoons of taco seasoning
2-3 tablespoons of fresh lime juice
Pinch of brown sugar
2 cups shredded chicken (leftover from the lunches I made)
1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend
Flour tortillas small sized (we used the carb conscious brand)

DIRECTIONS:
– Preheat oven to 415* and line a baking sheet with greased foil
– In a large skillet, saute pepper, onion, and garlic for a few minutes
– Add taco seasoning, lime juice, and brown sugar and cook for a minute or two
– Add chicken and stir to combine
– Roll up filling into tortillas (adding cheese on top) and place seam-side down on baking sheet
– Mist tortillas with olive oil or cooking spray before popping in the oven
– Cook for 15-20 minutes
– Serve with your favorite sauce

We found these great individual packs of guacamole at Kroger and they turned out to be the perfect dipping sauce. We also had a bit of salsa on hand, but the guacamole was definitely preferred.

I added the recipe into My Fitness Pal app, and it came out to be about 250 calories per serving (2 burritos) + 100 calories in the guacamole. That’s not too shabby for the tasty goodness you receive!

What fillings would you add to this burrito?

Leave a Reply

