Week 5 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

See Week 4
See Week 3
See Week 2
See Week 1

Here’s how I did this week:

Week 5

It’s really blowing my mind right now that I have stuck with this training plan for 5 weeks so far…and I’ve only missed 1 workout (with a really dang good excuse!). I still would not classify myself as a runner, but I can definitely feel myself getting stronger and healthier. How do I know? Well, for one thing I am NOT a morning person. Never have been. I’ve been known to sleep until noon, or even later. Now, I’ve been waking up naturally at 8-8:30am on Saturdays and Sundays with no problem. Also, I just feel  better. It’s hard to explain. I’m mindful of the foods I’m eating and trying not to eat out if I don’t have to. I’m trying to drink more water and not drink cokes. In fact, I haven’t had a coke now in 2 weeks!

food

Last week I made these “chicken boxes” for lunch every day and they were delicious! I threw the chicken in the crockpot on Sunday, and then chopped up a bunch of veggies and stir fried them and mixed about a cup of veggies with each box. I also had some individual-sized brown rice containers that I mixed in. So good! and So healthy! Definitely better than eating at Subway every day. Speaking of food – on Friday night, Donovan and I stopped at Sprinkles ice cream for a treat. I ordered a brownie a la mode which normally I would scarf down in just a few seconds. This time, however, I could not finish the dessert. I could barely even eat half of it…and what I did eat made me sick. It’s been a few weeks since I’ve had that much sugar and it was definitely noticeable!

unnamed

This week the temperatures dropped again, forcing me to wear all my clothes again. Since there was a chance for “wintry mix” this afternoon, Dono and I donned our ski jackets for the walk. I have not worn this ski jacket since I was a sophomore in high school. Not kidding. It barely zips now, but it did the job. I’d love to get small enough to be able to wear this jacket normally again!

unnamed (1)

Also – I’m really grateful for my handsome husband for sticking with me through this. It’s not often that you find a husband and wife team that is so in tune to each other’s goals, and I really feel proud that I have this man by my side. He is encouraging and very supportive and I couldn’t do this without him.

How did your week go?

4 thoughts on “Week 5 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

  1. Pingback: Week 6 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Week 7 of Half Marathon Training AKA: Epic Fail | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Week 8 of Half Marathon Training Completed! | Newlywed Greggs

  4. Pingback: Week 9 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

