Week 7 of Half Marathon Training AKA: Epic Fail

Week 6
Week 5
Week 4
Week 3
Week 2
Week 1

Soooooo I’m just going to come right out and say it. This week was a super duper epic fail. EPIC.

Week 7

 

Yes. You are reading the chart correctly. I pretty much missed half + of the workouts last week. BUT- all for good reason! My niece was born on Thursday, so we spent most of the week/weekend with family and helping out with my 3 year old nephew.

charlotte

Side note: Being around the kids all weekend really helped re-energize my motivation for working out (even though I didn’t do it this week). I really want to be able to run and play with my future children and crawl on the ground with them. Kids are exhausting (so I’ve learned) and I want to make sure I am healthy and have enough energy to play with them.

Speaking of being exhausting – we spent a lot of time this week and weekend driving back and forth to Ft. Worth so it was nearly impossible to get a good workout in. On Tuesday night, we had grand efforts to go to the gym and workout,  but when we got there (at 6pm mind you) there were absolutely NO parking spots at all. Greta had already hit, so we decided to turn around and go home. Lame. I missed spin class on Wednesday because I met Donovan’s family out for dinner. Then Thursday-Sat we spent in Ft. Worth.

I was disappointed that I did so horribly this week, but I’m trying to not let that discourage me. I also did a horrible job tracking my food in My Fitness Pal, and the ones I did track were not very healthy choices. I will say…I was very proud of myself. We ate dinner at The Cheesecake Factory one night, and I did NOT have a piece of cheesecake! I ate 1 bite off of my friend’s cake, but I did not order one for myself. It was SO SO hard to turn down, but that saved me several hundred calories!

This weekend was also Valentine’s Day, and well, Donovan and I really spoiled each other. Now that we’re essentially debt free, we wanted this to be our last “hoo-rah” before we start buckling down to save money for a house. He bought me an iPad, and I got us a couple’s massage on Saturday (which was glorious!) . Then – on Saturday night we had dinner at The Lonesome Dove Western Bistro in the Fort Worth Stockyards. For Valentine’s they had a special 5 course dinner menu which was DELICIOUS! There were a few courses that only had seafood options, but the waiter/chef was able to accommodate my dietary needs and subbed out some other foods. The garlic stuffed beef tenderloin was by far a favorite! It was quite an expensive dinner, but totally worth it to spend some QT with my hubby. It had been awhile since we’d gone on a special date night!

quinoa salad

Now – it’s back to the daily grind. Back to working out and eating healthy again. My body is CRAVING vegetables and fruit like nobody’s business. I never thought that day would come! Last night I made chipotle rubbed chicken over a bed of quinoa salad (quinoa, kale, brussel sprouts) and it was delicious! I really needed some green veggies in my life.

Overall, I am disappointed in myself that I didn’t really try to make time for a quick jog/walk late last week, but I’m not going to let that get me down. My first 5K is in 2 weeks, so I really need to get back in the swing of things for the race.

How did you do this week?

 

3 thoughts on “Week 7 of Half Marathon Training AKA: Epic Fail

  1. Pingback: Week 8 of Half Marathon Training Completed! | Newlywed Greggs

  2. Pingback: Week 9 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

  3. Pingback: Week 10 of Half Marathon Training Complete! | Newlywed Greggs

Leave a Reply

