Today is a Good Day

Yesterday I was in all sorts of a funky mood. I’m blaming it partially on the weather. and Partially because I’d really like a weekend where I don’t have to do or entertain ANYONE! Sometimes I just need a good day or two by myself to sleep, read, and catch back up. Sometimes I feel like I push myself to be everywhere and do everything for everyone. But I can’t. It really is difficult to “do it all” as they say, so I can only do the best that I can.

This is not meant to be a woe-is-me post, because it’s not. I’m in a much better mood today for a number of reasons.

1. I’m loving the Tone It Up nutrition guide! I’m a sucker for a good reality show, and a few months ago I got caught up with Bravo’s Toned Up! Karena and Katrina are SO likeable, and they make working out and eating clean look like fun. My friend Steph and I went in together with her sister to buy the nutrition guide because it is hella expensive and I can’t justify spending $150 on a recipe book. So far, I’ve found several recipes in the nutrition plan that look REALLY good. Donovan and I made the Southwest Burgers on Sunday night and they were DELICIOUS! For lunches this week, I’ve been making one of their salad ideas and it is also delicious! (Although I switched out the cucumber for zucchini because I don’t like cucumber)

Tone It Up Lunch

So far, a majority of the recipes seem pretty manageable, but there are some on there that require pretty expensive ingredients and seem like it might take a long time to make. I was disappointed there weren’t more crock pot recipes and “under 30 minute” meal ideas. So – Tone It Up – if you’re listening….that’s what I would like 🙂

I have been doing their “Meta D” shot each morning – essentially it is an Apple Cider Vinegar shot. And it is terrible. Supposedly ACV is good for you… guess we’ll see how it goes.

2. I’m also LOVING juicing! 

I never ever thought I’d be one of those people who craved a “green drink” — but they are SO good!

green drink

I am starting to realize, however, that juicing can get pretty expensive. I juiced a WHOLE bag of spinach and literally got a few drops. That one bag of spinach was $3!!! What the heck. While I know these juices are very healthy, I probably need to slow my roll a bit. But regardless, the juices taste amazing, and I do feel healthier after I drink them.

3. Eating Clean and Seeing Results!

So I’ve been working out 4-5 times a week since the beginning of January and haven’t really noticed much change in my physical body size. While I do feel stronger and gaining endurance, I don’t feel like I’ve actually been losing much poundage. Over the past 2 weeks I’ve really been focusing on what I’m eating and when I’m eating and I can tell results faster. Not only is my skin clearer, my eyes and hair brighter, but I’m starting to see a bit of a shred. I did some measurements this morning and here’s where I’m at:

Chest: 35.5″ – down an inch and a half!
Waist: 36″  – down an inch!
Hips: 43″  – stayed the same. womp womp
Thighs: 21″  – down an inch! finally!
Arms: 13″  – down half an inch!

This is exciting! Since the last time I’ve measured I’ve really seen some improvement – especially in my chest! It is really hard to whittle down my hips and thighs, but I think eating really clean is getting me there. I’m definitely going to keep eating as clean as I can at least 4-5 times a day.

4. First 5K this weekend! 

This weekend I’m running my first ever 5K! Donovan and I signed up for the Trinity River Levee Run in Dallas for Saturday morning. I’ve never run a 5k before – even in high school, our races were just 2 miles. I’m sure I will have to walk a bit during the race, but that is okay. I’m excited to finally get out there and do this as it means I’m getting closer to my goal of the half. If you’re planning to run the 5K, too, let me know, and let’s meet up!

How are y’all doing today?

2 thoughts on “Today is a Good Day

  1. Best of luck to you for your 5K! Remember, no matter what your time is, you will be lapping everyone that is on the couch-ha!

    Good for you on working towards eating clean and losing inches–crazy how the scale doesn’t move sometimes but the tape measure can hand out smaller numbers!

Leave a Reply

