Week 10 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

Week 9
Week 8
Week 7
Week 6
Week 5
Week 4
Week 3
Week 2
Week 1

Sorry, peeps, but I don’t have a special graph for you this week. Sad day. I will say, though, that I can’t believe it has already been 10 weeks of training! I feel like I’ve come a long way, but I still have a long way to go. It’s been a bit over 2 months, and I’m still struggling to run a mile straight during training (how I ran a full 3.1 I’m still not sure). While I’m still getting out there and training, I’ve trying to focus on eating as clean as I can and getting more fruits and veggies into my diet. If you follow me on Instagram, you know that I purchased the Tone It Up Nutritional Plan, and I’m LOVING the recipes they have there! Some of them are a little strange (I’m not ready to eat seaweed yet), but for not having a lot of processed ingredients, the meals sure do have a lot of flavor! I mean, I used to never even put my eyes on a brussel sprout, but now we’re eating them twice a week! If only I could get into good, leafy greens (other than juicing). Y’all have recommendations to eat leafy greens? I’ll get bored of basic salads every day. Fun ways to cook greens and put them in different foods = ideal!

Also – last weekend I bought my first pair of compression sleeves.

compression socks

I bought the CEP compression sleeves from Luke’s Locker in Colleyville. They weren’t too horribly expensive so I was willing to give them a try. Donovan got a pair before me and he was swearing by them, so I figured it couldn’t hurt. Of course I had to buy bright pink to match my shoes! So far, the sleeves are doing okay. I’m not used to how tight they are, so my legs get REALLY hot while I’m walking/running. The sweat also seems to pool at the top of the sleeves which is gross. I’ve also learned that I have to pull them down really low, otherwise there is a gap between my ankle and the sleeve, and my ankles will get swollen because of blood flow. Ugh. May be I should have purchased the full sock/sleeve combo? I do like to wear them after a jog/walk because it does feel good on my aching calf muscles. I’m going to keep trying them, but hopefully can get my legs strong enough where I won’t need them someday.

picture

Last Saturday it was a beautiful weekend here in DFW. Dono and I went for walk/jog together on Sunday and enjoyed the warmer temps, however, yesterday it was 80 degrees. While it felt great standing still – I’m not used to running in the heat yet. My pace was God-awful slow and my body felt REALLY heavy. It was exhausting just trying to pick one foot up after another. Now that the weather is going to get progressively warmer in the coming months, this is really when I need to focus on training – that way when it cools off in the fall, I’ll be that much more prepared for crazy weather conditions in races.

How do you guys train between the changes of seasons?

Leave a Reply

