Week 11 of Half Marathon Training Complete!

Instead of linking to every week’s results in each blog, you’ll now see a new tab at the top of my blog page for “Half Training.” To see any week’s results, you can click there to link to any of my blog posts regarding the week completion. Hopefully this will be a bit easier for all of you reading so you won’t have to scroll through weekly links.

Anyways…on to the week 11 completion:

Week 11

 

This week I seemed to hover around 2.5- 3 miles. Greta was here (stupid lady time) which pretty much knocks me off my feet each month. Do any other women out there reading this post have any suggestions to overcoming PMS during training? I know it sounds ridiculous, but I become such a baby when Greta comes and I really do feel like another person. I’m irritable, whiny, annoying, and I want to eat everything. It’s so hard.

I did try to focus more this week on eating cleaner since I knew Greta would be stupid biotch and not let me outside to run/walk. On Thursday night, I made an Almond Butter Satay (with chicken) with vegetables. Everything smelled good when we were making it, but it turned out to be a big ole fat fail. I’m sure it would have been fine to eat, but Donovan and I were paranoid the chicken wasn’t cooked so we just ended up throwing it all out and ordering a pizza. Ugh. Shoot me. I haven’t had Domino’s pizza since before the 1st of the year, so let’s just say that I learned my lesson. It WREAKED havoc on my stomach. Next time, we’ll just heat up something we already have at home. I guess this means my body is now acclimated to eating more veggies and fruits and eating clean because it did NOT like the pizza. (Although my brain loved it!)

photo

This weekend Dono and I have been trying to detox from the pizza and have been juicing a lot. We made a huge veggie stir fry on Friday night, and last night we made homemade pizzas where we can monitor whats in it. For the week coming up I’ve tried to plan more veggie-focused meals and come up with additional veggie sides for us. I’m also trying to stick to some of the Tone It Up rules this week:

  • Eat fruit before 3pm
  • No dairy after 3pm
  • No carbs/bread products after lunchtime
  • Eat at least 1 green veggie with every dinner

The hardest part for me is not eating carbs/bread after lunchtime. Dono and I have been trying to eat more quinoa at night in lieu of brown rice, and that seems to be working so far. The other hard part is no dairy at night. I LOVE milk, and its so hard to give up a glass of milk with dinner.

Now that it’s been a few weeks since my 1st 5K, I need to start planning for the next one. I really want to run the Color Run, but I’ve heard it gets really crazy. Anyone done the color run before? advice? Anyone want to run with me?!

Leave a Reply

