Race Recap: The Firefly Run

Wow! Never thought I’d get to a place where I’d be doing race recaps! Well, here I am. The 2nd 5k of the year is in the books!

This past weekend I signed up for and ran The Firefly 5k in Plano, benefiting Children’s Medical Center. I’m not sure why I decided to run this particular race, but it was quite an experience. The whole point of the race is that it starts at 8:30pm when it is dark outside. In our race bags we were given 2 glowing/reflective armbands to wear + there were option to buy more glow sticks and light up gear. Shannon had gone to Party City before the race and picked up a few glow-y things. We were not the most decked out, but it was pretty fun.

photo 1

 

Let me just say that night races are really awkward to prepare for. I woke up at 9am on Saturday morning and ate a bowl of spaghetti. Weird, I know, but I didn’t want the food to sit in my stomach so close to the race. I tried to rest most of the day, but that was pretty hard since my mom wanted to take me shopping. I drank a green juice about 4pm, but not sure that was quite the energy I needed. By the time I left for the race at 6pm, I was already tired and ready to call it a day so I wasn’t expecting to have a good race.

When we showed up at the park, I was shocked at how many people showed up to run. Apparently the Firefly Run is a huge deal in Plano. My race number was 26,000 something. Ridiculous. There were WAY more people there than at the Trinity River Levee Run. (Click here to read about my previous race experience.)

photo 2

Not the best picture since it was starting to get dark -but they had this “rave” area set up in the front of the park. There was a DJ spinning remixes and a huge light up billboard thing with fun colors and lights. It was pretty fun just hanging out and seeing all the crazy costumes!

When the race started, Katie and I started near the back of the pack since we’re not fast runners. I thought we were still decently close to the start line, but I guess not. When I crossed the start line, the time clock read 8minutes and 30 seconds!

photo 3

 

Ok, ok. This picture is worse than the previous one – but it gives you a good idea of all the glow lights. The only downfall to running at night was that I couldn’t see a damn thing. I can’t tell you how many times I tripped over the stupid lane markers several times or bumped into other people that weren’t wearing glow gear. It was neat to see a bunch of kids and families running together, but as a “seasoned” runner, it was annoying to have to run around them or cut off the course to get around since they would walk/run 4-5 people abreast. Annoying.

I crossed the finish line at 51 minutes – which means I actually finished in 43 minutes (since there was an 8 minute delay in starting). I was SO shocked because the last race I completed I finished in 45:05. A 2 minute improvement does not really seem like much of an improvement, but it is for me! Although I still walked a bit in this race, my first mile split was 13 minute pace! I haven’t run that fast in a long time! I think I wore myself out though because my next splits were 14:30 and 14:45ish.

Overall, I’m satisfied with my finishing time – especially because I wasn’t expecting to PR at all considering the conditions of the race. Although, this makes me nervous because the next race I have to run even faster!

Now that I’ve completed 2 5k’s – I really need to start upping my mileage and preparing for 10ks. If I’m ever going to get to the point whereI can run a half marathon this year, I need to start adding some distance each week. Currently, I’m running an average of 2-3 miles a day (may be 4 if I feel good) – but I need to start pushing towards 4-5 miles/day and longer runs on Saturday/Sundays.

Who wants to run the next race with me?

Leave a Reply

