Where I’m At

I’m sure you’re all wondering where I’ve been and why I haven’t been blog posting. Spring time is busy all around, so I’m pretty much trying to keep my head afloat (even though its already floating…thanks seasonal allergies!).

When I started this “weight loss adventure” earlier this year, I really only had 1 goal in mind – to run a half marathon. I’ve said over and over again how much I struggle when I just focus on the number on the scale. When it doesn’t budge I get angry, frustrated, and overwhelmed. 50 pounds seems like a lot to lose when you’re barely moving down the scale. BUT- when I focus on an extra-curricular activity – like running races, spin cycling, and other things that are FUN to me, I don’t care as much about the number, and I seem to be more successful.

Case in point.

Yesterday I went and got a physical at my new doctor’s office. I haven’t had a physical in YEARS, but I was really curious as to what my body looks like on the inside. Sure, I can look in the mirror and see outer appearance, but don’t have much knowledge on how things function on the inside. So, I signed up to do a full physical, including blood work. I won’t get my results back on my blood work for another few weeks, but I can already tell I’m moving in the right direction.

I wasn’t planning on posting exact numbers here because, well, its quite embarrassing…but I’ve started a blog to make progress, right? So….don’t judge me.

screenshot

So here’s the overview. I went to the doctor back in January and February for a “Special” issue I was having with my lower regions and weighed in at 217 and 216 respectively. Yesterday?  A whole 10 pounds down! While this may not seem like a lot in the grand scheme of things…this puts me 10 pounds closer to a 50 lb weight loss. Not to mention, my DR appointment before the wedding, I weighed about 225- 10 pounds more than this. Also, I feel like this is the healthy way to do things. Essentially, I’ve lost a pound a week for 2 months. I’ll take it. By the summer, I anticipate being under 200 pounds….something I have not been since high school years. And that would be amazing.

I’ve got a long way to go, but progress is key. Its helpful knowing and SEEING that what I’m doing is changing my body. I’m already so anxious to get the blood test results back so I can see what things look like on the inside!

Another thing I’ve been doing….I’ve been following the Whole 30 plan for food the past few days. I really do want to try the whole plan in entireity, but need to wait until after April is over since there are so many fun things happening this month. Essentially, I have not had any dairy, legumes, sugar, or grains for the past 3 days. It has been really freaking hard. Surprisingly, I miss milk the most. As long as I’m eating enough fruits and veggies throughout the day, I don’t really miss carbs (although, I got a whiff of glazed donuts in the elevator this morning and almost died). I just REALLY miss my glass of milk with dinner. I did buy almond milk, but I can’t get used to the taste. There’s something satisfying about a big glass of milk with dinner. (Yes I think I’m 5 still). I have found some great recipes on Pinterest for Whole 30 meals, and so far they have been delicious.

Have y’all done Whole 30 before? Any advice?

 

 

Leave a Reply

