One Year Has FLOWN By!

Y’all. I cannot believe that I have been married for 1 full year! ….well, it will be 1 year on Sunday, but this post is coming a bit early.

Two years ago, Donovan gave me the surprise of my life! He took me to Smoke for dinner for my birthday, and ended up proposing! Little did I know he had also invited our entire families to come and celebrate with us…and ended the night with a surprise birthday party for me…and surprise engagement party for all our friends who came!

IMG_0100

 

IMG_0433

 

It’s hard to believe that the next year of engagement went by so fast, too. As Team Carovan, we planned the wedding together. We ordered invitations, flowers, tasted cake (YUM!), picked music, outfits, and venues. Some aspects of engagement were really tough, but we made it through and are stronger for it.

Then came the wedding day. You can read more in detail about the wedding here — but I’ll just say it was a very magical day. It was everything I hoped for and dreamed for. All of our best friends and family were there to witness us exchange our vows and commitment to one another + tear up the dance floor and celebrate!

1005315_603081822666_268489331_n

 

It really is crazy to me how quickly the first year of marriage has gone! Everyone says the first year is the hardest…and if that is the case, then we are smooth sailing! Donovan and I don’t really fight anyway, but we have great communication skills. We don’t play mind games with each other, and we let it all out when its necessary. Yes, there are things that bug me about him (you have a lot of dang socks!!!) and I know there are things about me that bug him (I’ll never learn how to use a knife properly) – but they are all little things that we chalk up to quirks.

I’ve learned in this first year of marriage that my husband is not only my best friend, but also my best support team. Sure, my parents and family will be there – but Dono is my one and only. We’re the only people that can really motivate each other to get up and exercise, eat healthy, and do the right thing. We challenge each other daily, make each other laugh, and enjoy each other’s company. Sure, there are lot of hobbies and interests we don’t connect on, and that’s fine. It gives each of us our space when we need it.

This last year we’ve done so many things together it will be difficult to list – but I know that we are planning on many years ahead of us together. This year we are planning to run a half marathon together, and I can only imagine what lies ahead! I can’t wait to take more trips, have children, and purchase and move into our first home together. But for now….let’s just eat that glorious cake 🙂

20040025

 

Leave a Reply

